All Ice, All the time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
January 16th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

IceIceIce

I woke up to a 1/4 inch sheet of ice covering my truck. Stuck in San Antonio :(
I thought I would be able to outrun the weather front and make it to the other side of San Antonio before it hit. I was mistaken. Twenty more miles and I would be able to leave today for NOLA, but as darkness fell on San Antonio yesterday, the weather took a turn for the worse. By the time I drove into NW San Antonio from Tucson on I-10, ice was already starting to accumulate on the roads. I-10 was closed and I couldn't make it to the hostel, so I stopped at the intersection of 1604 and I-10 for the night. In the morning, it had only gotten worse. My alternate route out was closed, I-10 was closed and I did not want to take the chance of getting stuck on some unknown surface road trying to wind my way out. I extended my stay another night and went to my truck to get drinks and food, but found that my doors were frozen shut. I had to go get some water to pour along the door frame in order to get inside. Once that was accomplished, I went back upstairs to my room and tuned in to the local channel that was airing "All Ice, All the Time" coverage of the winter blast. Just as I was wondering how these anchors made it in to the station in all this ice, they stated that their boss put them up in a hotel near the station. They said this was the typical scenario when really bad weather was forecast. So, there I was, two days stuck in a motel room in San Antonio, with no internet access, no less. By Wednesday, the 17th, it was predicted that temperatures would rise above freezing and ice would melt. I waited until around noon and headed out, roads still closed, winding my way through downtown San Antonio, stopping only at Starbucks, with ice flying off my truck. At one point, after hitting a bump/hole in the road, the entire sheet of ice that was covering my hood flew up and crashed into my windshield, totally freaking me out. By the time I got to Houston, most of the wet weather was gone and it was an easy drive (apart from the endless road construction in Houston) to NOLA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.378s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 98; dbt: 0.2116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb