The River Walk


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
March 1st 2019
Published: March 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-01-19 The River Walk

After the usual morning routine, I washed off the car just to get the worst of the dirt off. I sure felt better even though it's not "clean".

Back to my favorite parking lot in town I found the entrance to the river walk after buying my tour ticket from the information center. There is a whole world down a flight of steps that is festive and colorful. There are shops, restaurants, colorful decorations and hoards of people in this secret little world. Oh, and a river.

I found the line for the tour boat and after a short wait we boarded Harold's boat and our instructions if we fell overboard were to stand up and walk to the nearest shore, it's no deeper then 5 ft with a concrete bottom. They even drain and clean the "river" every 2 yrs.

It was very enjoyable and a great way to get the lay of the land. At the end of the tour it was late lunch time so I walked along the river until a restaurant struck me and I had a delightful meal watching the tourists go by. There were blankets over the backs of the chairs at the tables outside just in case you felt chilly. The people at the table near me had a waitress come to their table and prepare a guacamole dip right before their eyes. It looked wonderful and smelled even better, they really seemed to enjoy it.

On my way to the car there were lots of people at the Alamo square so I had to investigate. There were kids acting out a little play about the battle for the Alamo, really cute and nicely done.

On my way home I stopped at the grocery store to stock up on groceries because I am heading into the great desert tomorrow.

Watson was happy to see me and we had the usual walk and dog park tour.

Time to go in and rest up so I can get up early tomorrow, break camp and head to the next leg of the journey, if I make it out of San Antonio.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb