Post, TX


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Panhandle
November 10th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This section written Friday evening.

Even though this won’t get posted until I make my way to Texas, I thought I’d share a little about Friday afternoon.

I drove up towards the wind farm before lunch. Never found a road into the wind farm, but did spot a couple of the old water wind mills that contrasted nicely with the new power generating wind mills.

When I came back in the refuge, I spotted a bison RIGHT BESIDE the road. It was very shortly after I entered the area where they roam. They have fences to keep them on the refuge and you cross over cattle grates in the road. I stood on the opposite side of the road from the bison and had fun trying to capture images of him.

That was the only bison I saw this afternoon. But longhorns were all over the place in front of the visitor’s center. There were even a couple of calves running around like kids would do!

I even captured rush hour as several crossed over the road in front of the visitor’s center.

Then just before I came back to the campground, I spotted 4 elk. They were a long ways off, but I think I got a reasonable shot of one of them.

Chessy and I got to see several more deer in the campground when we took our evening walk.

I have lots of company in the campground tonight. Just about all the sites in both loops with electricity are full and there are a good number of tent campers, too. Weather is forecast to be nice all weekend so I’m sure that helped people decide to come out and take advantage of the beautiful fall weather.

That’s all for tonight. Post, Texas here we come.

Saturday update. Arrived in Post, Texas just before 3 pm today. It was an easy and uneventful day today covering 268 miles. Sunny and warm but a little windy. Didn’t travel on a single interstate highway - in fact I won’t for the foreseeable future. Good highways with little traffic and few towns. Lots of fences, cattle, and mesquite trees, but houses were few and far between.

Looking forward to another easy day on Sunday. I gain an hour - going from CST to MST - so I should arrive in Roswell in plenty of time to take in some museums and other sights of the area.

Don’t have a fast link here, but at least I do have a signal at the campground. Hopefully I’ll be able to upload a few photos to go along with this.

Stay tuned for any close encounters!

Bruce

PS I'm having difficulty trying to upload images so for now all you get is a little text. I'll try again later or hopefully will have a faster connection in Roswell.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb