Wichita Mountains


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Home on the rangeHome on the rangeHome on the range

Bison grazing near the prairie dog town.
There’s Tulsa time and then there’s Wichita Mountains time. I have discovered yet another wonderful location across our fruited plains!!!

We are so blessed to have such a diverse country to explore. Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge is definitely worth the detour off the beaten path.

I arrived just before noon on Thursday and had my pick of 10 of the 13 sites with electricity. I either forgot or didn’t read there was no water on the individual sites. No problem as they had water available. Since I wasn’t assigned a site and could pick and choose, I unhooked the Jeep in a parking area near the electric loop section. I filled the fresh water tank in the RV and then drove around in the Jeep to choose my site. At first I was going to take site 55 for old time’s sake. I stayed on site 55 at Pirateland Family Campground in Myrtle Beach, SC way back in the summer of 1973 after my freshman year at Clemson. I worked there for the summer and got to live in my folks pop up camper. Oh what memories. The number 55 has other significance in my life. I was part of the 55th AAS (Aeromedical Airlift Squadron) when stationed in Germany with the Air Force.

But as much as I wanted to stay in site 55, site 56 had more shade. So for Chessy’s comfort we set up there.

Even though this is more primitive camping than your average private campground, it’s pretty nice. They have paved roads and pads. This site is so level I didn’t have to use any of my ramps. Most campgrounds require some leveling, even with their “level” sites.

There are 4 other campers in my loop and a few tent campers. I expect more company Friday evening.

One of the nice things last night was the sound of silence and crickets. It is so nice to not hear the noise of trucks from major highways.

After lunch yesterday, I went out exploring and found a few bison and prairie dogs. I went up on Mt. Scott (elevation 2464’) and all around the refuge.

It was just after sunset when I came back to the RV and got to see several doe and a buck when Chessy and I went for our evening walk.

This morning I woke
Sunset pointSunset pointSunset point

One of the many beautiful vistas in the refuge.
up about 30 minutes before sunrise and fixed a mug of coffee to drink while out on my early morning outing. I went outside and was greeted by deer in the campground - about 6 does and a buck.

Had a foggy start to the day, but a very mild morning. I found one lone bison off in the distance. Also went up to the top of Mt. Scott where it was clear above the fog and spectacular.

After roaming the prairie until about 9:30 I came back for a late breakfast and worked on some images from the morning.

Heading back out and going to try and find the wind farm which is just off the north side of the refuge. Hopefully I’ll find an area to upload this journal and some photos.

Next stops - Saturday I drive to Post, TX and then on a mission to learn about aliens in Roswell, NM on Sunday. Hopefully they will let me use my laptop, camera, and internet connection to report on my findings if I get abducted. Stay tuned to see if any of my future images take on an eerie glow!

I came
Good morningGood morningGood morning

This was what I saw when I opened the door of the RV this morning!
into town for some lunch and found a good barbeque joint. Running out of battery power so will upload this.

Bruce



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Buck in campgroundBuck in campground
Buck in campground

I captured this image from the Jeep as I started out of the campground this morning.
Bison in the fogBison in the fog
Bison in the fog

Spotted this guy as I was out driving around in the early morning fog.
Above the fogAbove the fog
Above the fog

This is from Mt. Scott. A photo just can't do it justice, but I tried.
On top of Mt. ScottOn top of Mt. Scott
On top of Mt. Scott

This is another view from the top of Mt. Scott.


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb