Texas Hill Country Trip - Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » New Braunfels
November 22nd 2014
Published: November 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

November 9, 2014 (Sunday)



I had told mama if she wanted to go to church this morning to bring her some church clothes so she brought some. Last night I searched online for a church and found the Little Church in the Wildwood so that is where we went this morning. I enjoy visiting different churches, some of them can be an experience. This church had about 50 people in attendance. For such a small congregation, they had a wide verity of musical instruments. They had the standard piano, organ, 2 guitars and a drum set. In addition to that they had a cello, bongo drums and a harmonica player. There was a young boy there probably about 14 that reminded me of a young lawyer back in Abraham Lincoln’s days. He was dressed in black pant, white wrinkled shirt, red suspenders, red bow tie and black shiny shoes. He looked really nice. It was a good service and everyone was real friendly. They gave us a gift bag for attending. It had homemade bread, a candle and a note pad and pen in it. I now have the song Church in the Wildwood stuck in my head. Yes this was a little brown church also.



After church we came back to the condo, changed clothes, grabbed a bit to eat and then head out to sight see around this area. I had found a drive that was supposed to be a scenic drive called the devil’s backbone. I told mama that was real good we go to church then go drive the devil’s backbone.



On the way to the drive we stopped in the town of Blanco. Mama wanted to go into a couple of shops on the square. We did that and we also went into what is now the visitor center and activity center. It was a courthouse for about 5 years back in the late 1800s. There was then a big political disagreement (doesn’t this sound familiar) and the courthouse was moved to Johnson City.



The battery on mama’s cell phone had started going dead and was giving off very loud beeps every so often while we were in one of the shops. When we went to check out, mama told the clerk the beeps were from her phone going dead. I told the clerk no that was a monitor I had on mama so I could find her because she wonders off sometime. Hehehe I’m such a good daughter.



I was not that impressed with what they call a scenic drive. There was about a 2 mile area that was pretty but other than that area I had seen prettier drives in other parts of the hill country. After we got off that road we headed into New Braunfels to pick up a few groceries so we would have some snacks and light meal items in the condo.



While I’m typing this, mama is reading a book I brought along for her to read. It was a book I bought on my last trip when I was at the Vicksburg National Military Park in Vicksburg Mississippi. It is the diary of a young girl who lived in that area during the civil war. I knew I had to bring something to keep her entertained in the evening when we were back at the condo or she would try to go to bed at 7 then be up half the night. At least if she does that we have separate bedrooms.



My good camera stopped working after I got home from my last trip. I bought a little cheap camera just so I would have something while I figure out what kind I do want to buy. I loaded the pictures on the computer tonight and they did not turn out very well. I’m going to have to speed up my search for a good camera.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb