Can You Ever Have Too Much "Macbeth?"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
May 3rd 2011
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

...or so I asked my student

Obsession is one of my hang ups.

Once I get a thought or an idea or a subject in my head, I cannot let it go until I have thoroughly examined and thought about it in every which way. And when I have something big on the calender that I am waiting for, most of my free time is spent thinking about it. Hence is my fellowship to London and the UK.

What does the countdown on my profile say? 38 days now? Yeah, who's counting?

So last night I was thinking about my first day in London. I'll get there around 9:30 in the morning, UK time, on the 13th of June. I'm thinking I'll get myself around to the Victoria section of Westminster around 11 or noon. Which will give me about 3 hours to wait before I can check-in to my hotel room. I plan on spending most of that day just randomly exploring London, getting some use out of my Oyster Card (their subway pass). But I wanted to do something that evening - get out, see the town, etc. One of the things I thought of was possibly checking some of the other shows going on in London, so I checked out the UK website for TKTS (a discount ticket service that sells tickets for on going shows on the day of the performance at a discount rate - for those of you that don't know). One of the shows that came to my attention on the night of the 13th was a performance of VERDI's opera "Macbeth" at the Royal Opera House. I am familiar with the opera and like it a lot, so it would be pretty awesome to see it.

The only thing is, a few nights later I will be seeing a performance of the PLAY "Macbeth" at the Royal Shakespeare Company. Is that a little too much "Macbeth?" Is that possible?

I asked this student of mine what she thought. She responded that she didn't see a problem with it - but then reminded me that this would be a total of 3 performances of "Macbeth" I've seen this year - the first being when I saw her as one of the weird sisters in a UIL one-act production.

In the end, I tend to agree with her, if I can get a cheapo ticket, I'll probably go to the opera.

And with each of those performances, I will be sure to utter the word "Macbeth" in the theater, much to the dismay of overly superstitious theater people.

On a side note I just received the camera I'm using for the trip. So after a few test runs I might be uploading my first VIDEO BLOG! Stay tuned...

Advertisement



18th May 2011

No much longer now...
You leave on your trip in less than a month - whoo hoo! Have a wonderful time and I look forward to your posts!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb