Houston makes me sick


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Literally. Well, literally in the way that Americans mean it. I'm not churning my Happy Meal over the floor, but I have got some kind of 'flu type virus which has imprisoned me in my room today. I got up for breakfast even though I felt achy and exhausted (just thought it was tiredness/ bit of ME) and then found I was unable to function. Went back to my room and slept, then had pizza delivered for lunch. I like eating in bed and would probably - like Proust - do much of my living from this luxurious reclining position if possible!

Still, I am incredibly frustrated as I have only two days to explore the JSC archive and get to the Rothko Chapel. Missing today is so annoying after so much planning with the librarians. But then I've learned from my illness that you can't push the body. I am hoping that a day off will mean renewed strength tomorrow. I don't want to give Dottie this bug either as she's 80 - I just hope I'm biologically clean by then!

Anyway, I'm feeling a bit sorry for myself - so messages, mails, calls would be appreciated!

It's actually sunnyish outside right now so it's a shame I'm cooped up. I keep having urges to get a taxi to the park and ride and then a bus to the Rothko Chapel - but central Houston is 25 miles away! I don't honestly think I'll manage to see it and I'm gutted. I adore Rothko's work. Still, I suppose I've acheived most of my dreams on this trip. I've done very well considering how poorly I have been at times during the past year.

I hardly ever get infections these days. The woman who runs the hotel says she got ill too on her first visit here - I blame the rotten climate and the immnse, lung-clogging pollution! The fact that I've hardly seen a nutritious meal for ages doesn't help either, nor the fact that the plane here was full of spluttering people. Urgh.

I'm off to feel rough and watch TV/ listen to music/ sleep some more. Hopefully, that will sort me out. Send healing vibes to Seabrook! I can't believe it's March - I left in January. How must all the "real" 6 month backpackers feel? I hope to know one day!



Advertisement



2nd March 2007

Houston, we have a problem
Hey Sharon, sorry to hear that you're laid low with lurgy. I hope you get better soon, not for purely altruistic reasons, I am living vicariously through you, and would love to see the Rothkos (may complement the mood evoked by a flu virus?). I recommend bedrest and old movies, and you'll be trotting around Texas in no time at all, trust me, I'm a doctor.
2nd March 2007

feel better soon!
Dearest Sharon, Hope you feel stronger soon so that you can face the last part of your journey with energy and interest. Sorry we'll miss each other when I'm in UK. Love, Diana xox

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb