Spring break Part 2: Dallas, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
March 19th 2006
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Flying from Los Angeles to Dallas was a fairly short flight, so I was ready to go exploring upon arrival. I immediately noticed just how flat the terrain was... and how few trees there were! Having just left California and the crammed space.. and growing up in Georgia with trees and hills everywhere, it was a bit strange. I was left with the feeling a baby must have when they suddenly realize they are no longer wrapped up tight in the blankets and are left with nothing but space around them.

I was staying with a friend, so of course the first thing we HAD to do was go to a real Texas steakhouse! A bit skeptical at this whole "Texas is best" mentality, I do have to give them credit.. the meal wasn't so bad after all! 😉 Afterwards, we went to a place called "The Flying Saucer" and I sampled some local beers, again, a success!

Unfortunately, the rain followed me in from California so much of the few days I was here was spent dodging showers, but we did manage to go into the actual city of Dallas and see the JFK museum and learn alot about the events surrounding the death of our president many years ago. The museum is on the same floor as from where the shots were fired so it was possible to look out windows from that floor and better understand what occured. It was a strange feeling to then go town to the street to pose for a picture.. and not knowing if it was best to smile or not.

While there, I also got to walk around a district called Deep Ellum (The ultimate result of an accent applied to "Elm" as it was originally called.) It reminded me alot of Athens, GA.. where I live now - only it was covered in Graffiti/Murals.. which I absolutely loved! (And if you've read other entries of mine, you already know that I have two entire postings for the works seen in Amsterdam and Berlin alone!) I did not get to see the area at night, but it's their bar/music district and apparantly it comes alive once the sun sets.

With all the rain, I cut my trip short in Dallas by nearly a day (which was good, because my original flight ended up having MAJOR delays!)- but
Book Depository BuildingBook Depository BuildingBook Depository Building

Location of the assasination of JFK.
not before heading to Pete's Dueling Piano Bar to finish the trip up. It was so much fun! It's like improv.. only they play the whole time. I even got called up from the packed out room to sit on the piano to be embarrassed, but it was a blast!




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Upcoming shows...Upcoming shows...
Upcoming shows...

Many of the places painted their monthly schedules on the side of their buildings. I thought this was a great idea!
Beware! It's against the law to ask for handouts!Beware! It's against the law to ask for handouts!
Beware! It's against the law to ask for handouts!

That's right.. even to bum a cigarette! (Luckily for me, I don't smoke!)
Graffiti/Art in Deep EllumGraffiti/Art in Deep Ellum
Graffiti/Art in Deep Ellum

Several murals surround the tunnel.
Petes Dueling Piano BarPetes Dueling Piano Bar
Petes Dueling Piano Bar

It's like improv... with Pianos! (Yes, that's them singing to me up on the piano!)
Flying SaucerFlying Saucer
Flying Saucer

Beer's what's on the menu!


1st November 2006

beautiful pictures
i just moved from dallas to oregon a few months ago and have been trying to find the perfect photos to ease my homesickness...you're pictures are by far the best i've come across so far...thank you

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 31; qc: 115; dbt: 0.1483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb