Updates for Pre Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
February 11th 2011
Published: February 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Test PhotoTest PhotoTest Photo

This is the snow from last year, though I find it relevent in this "Global Warming" weather we are having.
Well, its been a while on the updates.

For one the internet here sucks, wether because of the weather or our crappy router. LNKSYS sucks, don't get it.

Anyway, some updates on the trip.

It seems like everywhere I am going the end of the world is coming. If I waited for everything to be right I don't think I would ever get to go on this trip.

I have contacted the Dive Shop in Thailand and though some of the dive sites in the Similian Islands (as well as other parts of Thailand) are closed, he assured me that their are many other sites within the islands. Apparently the islands are nine diffierent islands with dozens of dive sites.

I have a connecting flight from Bangkok to Rome via CAIRO! Haha. Might be changing that one to the direct flight, I will wait and see if things get better over there before I decide.

A volacnoe blew up in Southern Japan last week, but nothing to bad, so I don't think that will really effect me since I am going to be in Tokyo, Kyoto and Oskaka, which are all on Honshu island (the big one).

China is well china, nothing out of the ordinary there.

I went shopping and got my backpack, a sham wow towel, by thailand guidebook, and some hiking boots. All courtsey of REI.

I received my final tickets last week from Airtreks and worked with a guy name Chris. he was very helpful and patient. Considering I contacted him 6 months ago about this and sent him several dozen revized iteniarys. He also is the one who recommend I try visiting southeast asia. I am looking forward to Thailand the most. Beaches, scuba, kite boarding, jungle treks, I can't wait.

I was going to call the VISA people in Houston for my China VISA yesterday and to my surprise the FEDEX package arrived. VISA obtained for CHINA. DONE!!!

My neighbors just got back from Thailand last week, and if it ever stops snowing or icing I will go back over their to talk to them about thier trip. They have been to Thailand before and were helpful in some culture perceptions I wasn't aware of.

Last but not least. I got a job today so that should slot me in for a little more money. That and my tax return, and i have met my goal and my "cushion" of 25% for my trip.

Next up on the agenda. Get the couch surfing lined up, if that doesnt work then I will have to reserve some hostels for Japan and I need to buy a Japan rail pass, they have a special one for the Cherry Blossum season, which ends on march 31, so I wil buy it before I leave. The other hostels will wait to be booked since I am not exactly sure where I will end up, but that is the adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb