Hurricane Ike - The Good Afterwards


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, September 27, 2008

Listening to the local am radio station this morning; programming is back to the normal schedules. This station is, of course, www.klvi.com, 560 AM from Beaumont, Texas, that I mention often.

At 5:00 a.m. on Saturdays there is an outdoor show that is pre programmed. A local host comes on at 6:00 a.m. with the Tradio Show, where people, not those offering services or business ventures, are to call in to find or sell anything they need or have. These things often range from firewood and farm animals to tractor tires, computers, vehicles and refrigerators.

I, personally, have never called or bought anything from the program callers but listen nonetheless.

I was amazed at the people calling in this early in the morning to offer, free, household and clothing items for those that may now need them.

Some were calling in to offer, once again free of charge, their services and strength to help dismantle fences, walls and / or haul items away to landfills or wherever.

I love this area's community spirit.


Monday, September 29, 2008

I am awake and half dressed. I hurt in every place in my body. I have stumbled, tripped and such so often this weekend, I'm beginning to worry about myself. Some were not of my own clumsiness but some were. I keep hearing my mother tell me from heaven as she did on earth "Pick your feet up, Patricia."

The last time I fell and it was a good one. Don't imagine I looked real graceful though.

I have not practiced the safety methods we preach so often at work. That is completely wrong on my part and I should know better.

At home this afternoon, I listened, repeated, to a CD I have by The Eagles, specifically the song "Get Over It". Thanks Tom S. for suggesting that song some years ago when I was whining about something or the other.

It worked! That song and my telling myself to 'suck it up'. Well, it still hurts but I'm being careful (try not to cough with all the cooties now in the air affecting my sinuses and allergies and heaven forbid that I need to sneeze!).

I do hope that all have gotten back to our area and found none or minimal damage.

I can't do heavy lifting just now, but let me know if I can do anything.

I promise to reschedule my planned skydive and birthday party events as soon as I know everyone is as back to normal as they can be.

So check in with me, friends, to let me know your 'hurricane status' and I wish everyone good things.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb