Hurricane Ike Recovery - 26 September 2008


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
September 27th 2008
Published: September 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today began very cool (for me) and was most welcome to assist with the stench, mosquito and love bug problems. All three were in attendance when it began warming up at mid morning. It has been what some call a 'Chambers of Commerce' day.

Most schools are back in session today; others will resume on Monday coming. Current logistics of residence for some students are being addressed and dealt with by the individual school districts of our areas.

Recovery and rebuilding are ongoing here. It's still heart wrenching but the tenacity of the folks living here is usual and still amazing.

I heard during the 5 pm radio news that the South Texas State Fair, a steadfast event in our combined area, is canceled for this 2008 season. There are many factors and concerns behind the decision. One of the foremost is that the people recovering are just not prepared and ready for this large normal event. I agree and applaud them for this decision.

Work situation is diligent as well. People are hard working and appear to be happy to have their hands and heads busy with non hurricane things.

Besides, we have a project to build and complete.

Stopped at the grocery store this afternoon. No woe is me to be heard. All are buying what they need. Almost all of my immediate area has electricity, water and such, if not all. I have heard no specific statistics.

I didn't do any manual labor today at home. I am still having pains from previous days of not-in-shape-to-do things. If I'd keep this type of exercise up, I'd be in pretty good shape - well maybe. Continuing with a regime to this extent is not going to happen, my friends.

I am trying not to whine, but I do groan out loud when I make sudden or not so sudden moves.

Cell reception is iffy in this area; now more than immediately after the storm for me.

If I have missed your calls, please excuse me. Emails seem to be working well, however.

My plan for the the weekend is to continue cleaning the land and taking things to the local landfill. More labor.

I must say again that I did not have the damage that a lot have here and elsewhere. For that I am thankful and feel blessed.

I just have too much 'stuff' that I don't need.

A lot will now soon go to charities.

Yeah, y'all that really know me - that means clothes AND shoes! Oh, My!

I may not write for a couple of days, but I do appreciate you that are interested enough to read my little sayings.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb