Found some good crawfish!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
May 2nd 2008
Published: May 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Can't miss it!Can't miss it!Can't miss it!

It's little but with great attitude!
Hi!

I didn't make it to the Mauriceville Crawfish Festival like I usually do, but neighbor Maurine introduced me to a restrauant in Mauriceville that I'd never been to. Paul's Seafood. The menu also refers to itself as a Karry-Out Kitchen.

Not only did I enjoy the food there, but so much so that I went the next day too!

It's a little bitty place on a big piece of land just down the street and around the corner from my neck of the woods (literally).

A while back it was an Orange County Police Substation. Orange County moved into 'town' with a building that had at least 25 square feet more space..................

The little property sits on Hwy 12 coming into Mauriceville at the intersection and the light at 1136. Since the substation, it has been a variety of food establishments (when not sitting empty) but never long lasting. Paul told us that he has been doing business there for two years. Yes, I'd seen it before, but never had the urge to stop and eat. That isn't a slight for Paul, but about my not particularly liking to eating out very often - I
Paul's Restr Hwy 12 MauricevillePaul's Restr Hwy 12 MauricevillePaul's Restr Hwy 12 Mauriceville

Well, almost to Mauriceville town
tend to like my own cooking.

The restraurant has an outdoor patio of two picnic tables with chairs and a couple of tables on the inside with the a/c. I like the outdoors - at least until it's 105 and still. There's plenty of room for folks to set up some good ol' music entertainment on the grounds. I need to ask Paul if he has some friends that play for the heck of it.

Saturday, for me, was all fried foods. I had great fried fish, fried oysters (and hardly anyone can fry oysters without cooking them to death - but Paul's were terrific and fried only enough to make the coating stick!) and I had a double side order of fried okra. Don't tell my doc.

Sunday, before the big rains that never came were to appear, we hightailed it up there for crawfish. Talk about good!

For my fellow fans of cold adult beverages, let me warn you that they do not serve any. If you have a cup with you...........but talk to Paul.

Maurine had asked (apparently numerous times) for him to start making fried pickles. He hadn't but he did
Boiling areaBoiling areaBoiling area

Crawfish are just meant to be cooked outdoors.
just for us. He used a fish fry coating mix like Maurine had the first time that I ate fried pickles and they were excellent. Tastes like a day at a fish fry with only a pickle. And that was before I had my fried fish served!

At the end of that crawfish feast, we had eaten 7 pounds and the cost was $22.00 USD. I thought it was a great price.

Just thought y'all might want to know where to take a drive for some good food. Their number is 409/745-9947.

Patt


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Charolette and TonyaCharolette and Tonya
Charolette and Tonya

Great gals! Great cooks! Great service with smiles!
PaulPaul
Paul

Himself - had to tear him away from cooking the crawdads
AdvertisementAdvertisement
Advertisement

Prices are very reasonable


Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb