Candidate Talk to Me Please


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
January 10th 2008
Published: January 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Listen to me as well.

Dear Ms. or Mr. Candidate:

I take the election process seriously, be they local, state or national. If I have questions during the process, I will ask. I expect answers,
at least to the best of your ability. I realize that some answers will not be to my liking or thoroughly satisfy my curiosity.

When I cast my vote, I want to know that I am as informed as I can be. My vote is my opinion of how I feel someone should handle my business, that of my neighborhood, community, county, state and government. I refuse to debate with or listen to an unregistered or negligent voter.

Candidate, what will you do for me?

I am a middle class, middle aged, woman. I work, I pay my bills. I am well thought of by my friends, coworkers and community.

The media tells us that the populace is most concerned with the war in Iraq, immigration issues and economic conditions, not always in that particular order.

Candidate, what will you do for me?

Wars in general, should be well thought out before enacted in my opinion. It apparently does not matter to the government that the public applauded war after September 11, 2001 and now feel somewhat different or downright disgusted.

In 2001 we were mad, upset and ready to hurt the bad guys responsible. We were lead to believe that our government knew where the bad guys were and we were going after them.

Then we were told that the number one bad guy could not be found there. But wait!, certain weapons of war were in that area of other bad guys and were to be used against us!

We, the public majority, voice unheard, were unsure of the government's reasons in continued aggression when these weapons were not found. We were more unsure of our own government's intentions when we finally were told that reports of various government departments had previously been made to our highest responsible government personnel, yet not to the general public, proclaiming that no weapons were discovered, only vague maybe / kinda / use to.....

To help that country with democracy building is the third or fourth reason we were told that we are in that country.

How about all the other countries we are in and have been in for long periods of time? Why? When will our forces come home?

Enough, say I. Bring our forces home to protect here. Goodness knows that we need it and not always from a foreign enemy.

Candidate, what will you do for me?

Why, pray tell, are we financing every other country or organization in the world and our government disaster assistance cannot be timely handled from our government to state to community to the stricken?

Why are our children not insured in health care?

Why is there so much poverty and under-education here when we send money supposedly for those purposes to non US properties?

Candidate, what can you do? Really. What can you do if elected?

You tell us what you plan and hope to do, but can you do this on your own? Who will need to approve anything you promise? Can you guarantee that approval?

Tell us where and what we need to act on so that we can elect those of like mind and replace those that will challenge or block the changes we, the public, want.

Immigration is a joke. People who come into our country should follow the laws that we have in place at this time or be permanently shown out of our country.

The humans that have entered and stayed in our country without legal authorization may be cutting your lawn, minding your children or cleaning your house, but the middle class and those of lesser means are not the ones hiring. Some of those that could possibly be in our county illegally are working construction jobs in my area. The wages are very good and do not differentiate for cultural or language differences. Our job safety classes should be taught in many languages but aren't. Therefore, are we safe at work and in our communities?

Candidate, what will you do for me?

Economic issues will always be a concern for the public. I want to know that I can live on what I make and save.

We hear that the Social Security system is now underfunded due to IOUs. Whose IOUs? Make them give it back! At least tell us who holds the IOUs, when and for what supposed reason. Let us help get that money back.

Our local and state elections ask us to vote for funding for various projects. Some of these projects have been funded previously then
robbed of their funding for some other 'project' more needy. Why? Why are we even asked to make those decisions if not being completely carried through and held accountable? It would be more honest to ask our vote to put money in a 'pot' to be used as our elected officials deem necessary.

Candidate, what will you do for me?

The government has stuck their nose into NFL and sports station networking issues. Now those elected to run government business are
investigating athlete drug intake. How do these relate to our true government issues?

Can someone please stick their nose into Social Security, disaster funding, health and education issues and concerns?

Candidate, I am not wishing that any of you lose your election. If you do, however, would you please be so brave as to answer or at least let the public know that you are concerned enough to look into some of these questions I have posed? You may endear yourself to legal citizens of this great nation.

I ask this effort of you for a later date only because I know that at the moment you are busy with the agenda of running for office. Your staff should have already thought of these concerns.

Candidate, what will you do for me?

Candidate, what CAN you do for our people?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.4kb