Please board your aircraft at this time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
August 27th 2006
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

First Hop

Austin, TX -> Kobe, Japan

I can't believe I'm already leaving again- it's been just over six months since I got back from New Zealand! My emotions are all over the charts right now...

I will be based in Kobe, Japan for the next seven months. The plan after that is still developing, but should at least include China, Tibet, Nepal, India, Cyprus, and the UK. I know this next year will be difficult at times, but I'm looking forward to the opportunities that it will provide.

Saying good-bye is the hardest part of traveling. Fortunately I still seem to be accumulating friends at a faster rate than I lose them, and there's nothing like leaving to make you want to tell everyone just how much they mean to you.. So I thought I'd stop here and just give thanks.

To ATX - Stay weird.

To Chuy's, Rudy's, Trudy's, Cooper's, Kirby, Magnolia, Salt Lick, Hut's, Baby A's, Hoover's, El Arroyo, Posse, Whole Foods, BlueBell - I can't believe that I will have to bear yet another year without ya'll- it's enough to make a girl want to cry. You'll be in my dreams!

To those of you in/from/around ATX (too many to name, but you know who you are)- Thank you for reminding me why I cherish each of you. People far and wide know how much all of you mean to me. I appreciate your patience with my constant stream of stories and facts about New Zealand. I only hope you can tolerate me upon my next return!

To Brent, Gordo, Jason, Matty, Dils, Dan - I love you dearly and think of you often. Hopefully I will get to see you guys sometime in the not-too-distant future. At least we'll always have Riversdale. And movie nights. And party tricks. And well, you know... going places and doing stuff. 😉

To D, Abbs, and Hopey - Good luck to each of you on your journeys. I look forward to getting up to mischief with you in strange and exciting places. You three know that you have my heart.

To Brenna - I wish I could have seen you on my way out, but unfortunately American Airlines wasn't very cooperative. Good luck with classes and that pesky little dissertation thing!

To Mom and Dad - Thanks for allowing your daughter to be a bum and monetary drain for the last several months. I wouldn't be able to do this (or much of anything really) without your never-ending love and support.

Obviously that doesn't cover everyone, but I have run out of time. Hugs and kisses all around!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



27th August 2006

Here's to you kid!
Hey Sweetie! Gonna miss you bunches but I know you'll have an amazing time over there! Hopefully seeing you in a few months, Nicole
27th August 2006

oy
Sorry again about the call. I hope you had a good flight, and let me know when you land! Hope you have an amazing time!
28th August 2006

Delightful!
Thanks for including me in the blog. I enjoy reading about your adventures, Alyssa!
28th August 2006

GOOD LUCK!!!
Thank you for adding me to your travel list. I really enjoy hearing about your adventures. We haven't known each other very long, but I feel like I know all about you with all of your travel stories. I really would love to come and visit for new years, if it doesn't cost me an arm and a leg (it probably will, with a flight that long). But, I will do my best. Have a fabulous time and be safe. We will be waiting for you in good ole Texas til you come home safe. Keep in touch :)

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb