2 Days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
January 15th 2010
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SakuraSakuraSakura

Random picture of my baby Sakura- she's had fun jumping in and out of my suitcase
Well, 2 days to go, it's hard to believe, isn't it???

2 Months have passed since my first post and it's flown by- hopefully it won't fly this fast when I get there! My weeks are zooming by so quickly- it scares me that Ireland will fly just as fast! :/

I won't lie- I know there will be days that I will want nothing more than to get on a plane and come home, but right now I'm just ready to go and start having adventures.

I got money in the bank, a new digital camera- thank you daddy, a new macbook battery- thank you again daddy! Got my clothes, coats, passport, insurance for overseas, and all the prayers of all you wonderful people 😊

I know there's a ton of people from Arlington I didn't say goodbye and I'm so sorry! It's really been non-stop getting things together the past 4/5 weeks- but there will be a welcome back to Texas party when I return and there will be tex-mex and margaritas and lots and lots of pictures - so anyone who's around in DFW when I fly in May 18- you're invited 😊

It's been rainy all day and night since yesterday and I figure I better get used to it since I could see 20+ inches of rain in March alone in Ireland- woot. I might have to invest in rain boots when I get there since there is hardly any room for normal shoes in my suitcase right now! Argh! Packing is KILLING me. I thought, "Pft, I've packed for 14 days in a 22in before, this will be a breeze" ....

...
..
.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I CANT MAKE IT ALL FIT

Sigh...

That's my biggest frustration right now is packing. Boo.

I got my last email from my AIFS adviser (woman who's been feeding me info and helping me with the program I am with- AIFS- American Institute for Foreign Studies) GREAT program- highly recommended for anyone wanting to study abroad. And she wished me best of luck and I thought, oh yeah, today's Friday- she won't be answering her email until after I'm there- I got a little sad. Though I've never met the woman, I felt like I was saying goodbye to my friend who's been helping me since Sept! *sniff* *sniff*

I won't lie, I am VERY VERY VERY sad about saying goodbye to all you wonderful people- especially the ones I haven't seen since school let out- but I keep thinking about that welcome home dinner Beau is setting up and how fun it'll be 😊 And I also know the moment I touch ground on Texas soil, I'll think to myself, "...want to go back to Ireland 😞..." lol- isn't that how life works though? Always wanting to go back to what was warm and comfy and fun? That's how I feel now... "...want to just stay in Texas with my fam, friends, and Beau 😞..."

But everyone is helping me remember that this is a great opportunity and experience I won't want to miss and that God has provided me with a great chance to learn a LOT of things and grow closer to him- so I guess with that in mind- I'm sure I'll have a grand time if the only thing I got from it was a closer relationship with my Lord, Savior, and Friend.

I love you all and if I don't post before I leave Monday morning, wish me luck and I again thank you for all your prayers, thoughts, and encouraging words. They mean so, so, so much to me.

<3 you all

Depart: Jan Mon 18 11 am from DFW

Advertisement



20th January 2010

:)
Praying for you girlie!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb