On the road again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin » Hill Country
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, a new chapter in the illustrious history of the Big Jim travel-blog begins. For those returning, thank you for keeping the faith. For those new, welcome to the family.

To begin, this years trip goes a bit beyond the British Isles, please, allow me to give you the birds eye.

At around 6 pm Texas time, I will be getting on a plane and flying to foggy London town, which I suspect shall be a bit light on the fog and will most likely be quite lovely and sunny, but lovely, sunny London doesn't quite have a ring of truth to it, so I go with the convenient lie. Whooray!

I arrive on Friday around noon, London time, and get myself settled in the "lovely" Imperial Hotel, as I covered last year words like "Royal" and "Imperial" have very, very little meaning and are often attached the shittiest buildings on the planet. However have no fear, for I shall only be in said shitbox for a few hours as my adventure begins in full the following morning.

For a rundown,

Friday 6-20 London
Saturday 6-21 Amsterdam
Monday 6-23 Berlin
Wednesday 6-25 Prague
Friday 6-27 Munich
Sun 6-29 Venice
Tuesday 7-1 Rome
Thursday 7-3 Florence
Saturday 7-5 Lucerne
Monday 7-7 Paris
Wednesday 7-9 London
Thursday 7-10 Austin
Friday 7-11 My couch, playing GTA 4

This seems almost surreal to me, but yes, I will indeed be traveling through 8 countries in 20 days. I am, in a word, awesome.

Now, there is going to be one noticeable change this year over last year, as I am not bringing my laptop with me. It seems that traveling through a foreign country is stressful enough without a 15 pound computer strapped to your back that you end up stressing over every time you leave the bus is a bit of a needless distraction. This means I may not be able to do the periodic updates while I am on the road, but may instead have to save all my hand written brilliance to unleash in a series of transcriptions when I get home, either way, you are privy, once again, to my inspired ramblings about travel,life, the world, and stuff in general.

Check back from time to time, or hell, even subscribe if the mood hits you. I thank you with all of my heart for your support.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb