Day 1 Dallas or bust


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee
May 18th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day one with my car trailer was mostly uneventful. I’m sitting outside the rig, laptop in my lap (wow for once I’m using a laptop as it was designed!) and Chessy lying beside me. We are in Hurricane Mills, TN just a few miles from Loretta Lynn’s home and not too far from Grinder’s Switch (think that’s the right name) where Minnie Pearl called home.

When I was having lunch on the east side of Nashville, I had the fleeting thought of driving on to Memphis and spending the night on the Mississippi River at a wonderful campground. But when I saw I would be driving about 525 miles for today I came to my senses. I’ve long since learned that 350 + - is a good number to shoot for in one day - less if I stop and sightsee along the way. So I dropped anchor at the KOA where I had originally planned to stop for the night. It’s a nice place, right off I-40 and has pull thru sites.

When I pulled into the site and got ready to level the RV and set up camp, I noticed one of my front tie down straps had broken. Good thing I implemented my Boy Scout motto and was prepared with spare straps.

I checked everything at the rest area where I had lunch, but didn’t look in one area to see that it was rubbing and cutting where the strap was around the axle.

So yet another reason I’m glad I didn’t press on another 3 hours today. I configured it differently so hopefully the straps won’t rub and get cut. I pondered a little and may try another option after I stop tomorrow and get some spare straps.

Hope it won’t be a continuing problem.

Well that’s it for today. I snapped a couple of shots after I set up, but haven’t uploaded them to the laptop. Of course it’s no different than the shots from my driveway - just in another state.

Well thanks for checking in. Hope to have some fun photos of Miatas and more Miatas in a few days. I have two track days later this week - an all day road course (instruction and track time) in Cresson, TX on Friday and then on Saturday and/or Sunday time at the Texas Motor Speedway where we will get to autocross, run on their road course and the 1 ½ mile oval. Should be a BLAST.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb