Whirlwind in Knoxville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee
July 31st 2005
Published: July 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I need a nameI need a nameI need a name

Suggestions?
This is just a quick post to share my excitement of the past few days! The BIG news is that I just bought my first car!!!(well besides Happy the VW rabbit I shared with Juan! Oh, Happy, where are you?)

It is a 2000 VW Beetle (yes that is a picture of her). She does not yet have a name, but she is divine! She is a 5-speed bubble. That is how it feels inside. Tall people don't be afraid to come visit me, because there is plenty of room (Daren fits better in my car than most he rides in!)

In other news, Daren finally found his dream job (we hope) so it looks like we will be here in Tennessee for awhile. Family and Friends - that means you have to come visit! Honestly, I'm pretty sure we could find something for everyone here....rafting on the Ocoee (site of the 1996 Atlanta Olympic whitewater events), hiking in the Smoky Mountains, a mini-Disney-like experience at Dollywood (yes, you read that correctly - Dollywood - as in Dolly Parton), a UT Vols game, including their theme-song "Rocky Top Tennessee". If you are lucky you might even get to see a movie premiere (Knoxville is home base to Regal Cinemas). As a matter of fact, last night was the premiere of Dukes of Hazzard. Since Daren is a current employee (although departing shortly), we made it down to the red carpet event, and had our picture taken with the General Lee. What? You say you are a Dukes of Hazzard fan? Well Cooter's Dukes of Hazzard shop is in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg only minutes away. Yes, Cooter runs the store. While you are in Pigeon Forge, shoppers can check out the 300+ outlet shops. If I haven't talked you in to coming down then you will have to talk to me in person 😊 Within only hours, there is also day-tripability to Atlanta, Asheville (very Canmore-esque...with a hippie, vegetarian twist), Nashville, Chatanooga, etc

Hope to see you soon 😉

In other news...I was in a car accident last week. No worries. I am safe and sound. The 83 year old lady who hit me is also fine. Thankfully no one was hurt. The car is sadly a bit dented in the rear-driver door area and will be spending some time with Ray (the car-fixer) next week.

D and I will also be moving this month (I know, I know...you'd think there wasn't enough excitement already in our lives) to a 2 bedroom 1.5 bath in Knoxville. The house is old and has plenty of character...including an upstairs room that has dresser drawers built right into the walls! I will send images once we have moved in!

In lighter news, I am currently boycotting Trivial Pursuit 90's edition because you apparently have to be American to know any of the answers. Nothing outside the US seemed to have happened during that time period. Just ignore me as I go through my Canadian in the USA identity crisis. I'm smart...I really am 😉

Enough ranting...I mean rambling out of me!

Peace out

Kirsten





Advertisement



1st August 2005

Trivial Pursuit
Hey, the first version was Canadian and was full of questions about hockey, the Yukon, Hudson's Bay, and frozen north...now it's the US's turn! P. S. Congratulation on the Las Vegas hitching. Wish we were there...
1st August 2005

Wow !! Congratulations !!
Hey chiclet !! CONGRATULATIONS on finally tying the knot !! Darren´s an upstanding guy and i´m sure you guys´ll make each other very happy (0: You looked gorgeous in your wedding dress by the way !! What the hell, you keep getting younger with the years !! Love and Hugs, Ximena PS: Love the Dukes...Only my all time heroes!! I may just visit you in the deep south if you keep using the dukes of hazard as a selling point...so be warned!! (0;
2nd August 2005

Felicidadessssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
En hora buena, congratulations and all the happiness for you two, well done!.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb