Beale Street


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
August 22nd 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I went to Tennessee for a funeral (which was funny in a cynical way), but since I had a day to kill between the funeral and going home, my dad and I spent a delightful day in Memphis. At first, we only found the bad parts of town that reminded us of Flint and we were disappointed. I thought that maybe there wasn't much to Memphis, and we decided that we should at least drive by Graceland. It's a big white house. I'm glad we didn't pay to go in, but it was cool to see.

The best part of the trip was definitely Beale Street--the center of Memphis Blues, bars, and apparently of goats as well. Dad and I were wandering around to see what there was on Beale Street, and we saw goats wandering around. I think it was a fluke, but definitely awesome! So anyway, we watched a Blues group perform in some park just off Beale St., and for dinner and lunch ate at a few cafe's on the road. Memphis Barbeque and Gumbo. Wow. I liked Rum Boogie Cafe best (despite its corny name) because it had guitars from all sorts of bands hanging from the ceiling!

We rounded out the day with a Mississippi river boat cruise, and we got to hear the story of the first opening of the Piggly Wiggly grocery store. I love the Piggly Wiggly!!

Ok, I'm tired, that's all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb