The trip home...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi
August 16th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes, some days do have more than 24 hours. I have to say, changing my flight was a pain in the ass, but in the end rather charming. Let me explain. My original flight back to the states was scheduled for December 13th from Nagoya to Las Vegas via San Fransisco. I called ANA, my airline, told them there was a death in the family and that I needed to change my ticket to leave the sixteenth. They said there was nothing available, but that if I wanted to buy a new BUSINESS CLASS ticket for 3,500, I could get on a flight. Right.

So, I cried. And then I called again, and they said the same thing, and I said “Is there anything at all available? I just need to get to Las Vegas. It’s a popular destination, I figured there had to be something. Again, they said no, and told me that my ticked was actually a United Airlines flight. So, I called UA, and they said that my ticket was indeed an ANA, and that they couldn’t change it. I called ANA again, and they said they had found something on the 28th, which would have been way too late. At that point, I got myself a large quantity of chocolate, cried a little, and cleaned my way out of frustration. The apartment was fricking shining, let me tell you. Anyway, 3 hours after my final call to ANA, I got a call back from them!! That was a surprise—I don’t think that would happen in America. The woman on the other end started out with an apology—that it would be an inconvenience but if I would be OK with changing the route I could switch my flight to tomorrow (which I did). I flew from Nagoya to Narita to LAX to Lost Wages. Now, this experience leaves me with several thoughts. First, amazement at Japanese service. I’m not sure they genuinely care more than Americans, but they go much farther in their efforts to make things work because if they don’t, they get fired. I’m so impressed with Japanese service. Secondly, the Japanese are very particular about the way they do things, which is why the flight agents didn’t even think about checking a different route even when I said “anything available”. I think a bit of language barrier was involved, but that peculiarity of the Japanese makes me want to beat my head against the wall.

That actual flights were intense! From Nagoya to Narita was short, and since it was a domestic flight, the security wasn’t bad at all. Also, I finally got to see Fuji! Granted it was from the airplane, but you know. At Narita, however, I became aware of a new rule when flying to America. No liquids on the flight (other than what the airlines provide).

So, while one of the stewardess’s was helping me with my luggage (I twisted my ankle just a little getting them down the stairs of my apartment earlier that morning), I asked her why we not only all had to have our carry-on luggage searched but also a pat-down. It’s because of the terrorist attacks in England. She spoke English pretty well, but happily she spoke in Japanese with me, unlike any other Japanese staff (in fact, I was speaking with some of them in English, and they couldn’t understand me, so I said it Japanese, and they were vaguely offended that I could speak their language). Anyway, the Japanese don’t seem to be too worried about the ‘no-liquid’ rule, because other than taking my shampoo from me, they let me keep my chapstick and liquid make-up.

When I got to LAX, however, they took my chapstick and make-up. Now, this is not terribly distressing, as I don’t usually wear make-up and chapstick in cheap. What does bother me is that I clearly had already been on an airplane with them (can we say inconsistency?) and that while chapstick is not allowed lipstick is. Now, aside from different colors, how are the two different?

I’m sick of the US over reacting to terrorist actions. They will just find another way to get things on planes until we aren’t allowed carry-ons. I forsee a day when we aren’t allowed to wear clothes. Damn.

Also, America is big, obnoxious, and full of fat people. I’ll get used to it again soon, but wow!! LAX is so loud and big. And Americans talk so loudly…. I have to break the ‘hai’ habit again. I bought a chai at Starbucks and when they handed it to me, I said ‘Hai, thank you,’ which earned me plenty of stares. Also, I said I wanted a 'short size aisu chai' (Japanese pronunciation of iced), which translates into ‘tall iced chai’. I convinced a lot of people that I am stupid.  Oh well.

Ok, I think I have twelve hours before I pull an allnighter to catch a few planes to Tennessee.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb