we're not in kansas anymore......


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Chattanooga
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We're here in Chatanooga TN....woo-hoo....The ride so far has been uneventful, but thankfully safe. We headed out a little later than I would have liked today, but still made good time. We arrived at the hotel around 5ish...Thanks Jeff!!! We did stop in Roanoke VA which turned out to be a tremendous waste of time and I am currently penning a letter to the city of Roanoke requesting they give me 2 hours of my life back..After deciding to stop there to check out the local history, we came upon a book store which turned out to be more of a thrift shop/book store that attempted to charge full book prices on books that were obviously older than me. Stupidly, I took the recommendation of the character behind the counter and went across the street to the "famed hot dog shop". Upon entering, I realized that this place was smaller than the back seat of my Honda. An old time southerner was behind the counter, beaming with pride as he dove inside a 5 gallon bucket for my hot dog and tossed it on a hot plate. I foolishly made the mistake of asking about the availability of saurkraut. Once I used the "s" word, I could feel an uneasiness amongst the staff. We were no longer customers, but "outsiders". I politely ordered their fries to round out the meal and hopefully dull the taste of their neon yellow "mustard". They topped off our order with a coke the size of the local water tower. As we quietly consumed our "meal", the old timer ( who has no understanding of the word discretion) proceeded to talk to the counter girl about ME as I sat right there. His comment about me being a larger- than- average- height woman did not endear me towards him, but since it was based in truth, I let it slide. No need to go postal over that.....

Thankfully, we got out of there asap, and continued our journey southwestward. How I long for a salad that's actually a salad, instead of dressing with a side of lettuce. I wouldn't be surprised to find a chicken fried salad here eventually..........

I'm working on getting some pics up too....

That's about it for now, tomorrow is the aquarium I think...then we end up in mississippi......til tomorrow......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb