Fried Corn and too much Gravy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Hattiesburg
December 4th 2009
Published: December 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay, we are 3/4 of the way there....We have driven 1, 324 miles since leaving the island....Last night was the worst driving...We spent some time in Chattanooga TN to go to the aquarium there. Cameron was BEGGING me to go and I couldn't deny the poor child. It was totally amazing!! The exhibits were awesome, we touched stingrays, sturgeon and other creatures in special tanks. We even had stingrays eating out of our hands....We were covered in butterflies in the butterfly garden and saw some awesome jellyfish. Though we rushed through the place, we could have easily spent several hours there alone. We also squeezed in some time to take the FREE shuttle to the Chattanooga Choo Choo for a photo op. before we left. That town is so friendly and clean...It seems to be a perfect mix of modern amenities and a small town feel. I wish we could have spent a lot more time there.....Yet, Mississippi was calling so we got back on the road...Unfortunately, the sun set on us as we left Alabama....Stopping at small local gas stations in the south is an experience to say the least....1. Why do they give you gravy with EVERY meal? I thought I had a side of cole slaw with my grilled chicken until I opened it and saw gravy!! 2. For breakfast, there was a crockpot filled with white gloppy stuff. I thought it was oatmeal until I tasted it and it was gravy! WHITE gravy is EVERYWHERE!!! And so is fried corn...Don't ask, I didn't....I hope today's gastrointestinal adventure will prove less disturbing. Heaven forbid I order a salad...I think they just rip the grass from out back and throw it in a bowl...I will have to detox and reset my intestines when we get to TX.....

We got stuck driving at night through MS...There was NOTHING in front or behind you but TOTAL darkness as you drive through the forests. It is a strange sensation when you can't see the horizon or tell where the trees end and the sky begins. I almost wanted to go slower than the 70mph speed limit, but did not want to stay on that road a minute longer than I had too....Some kind of animal approached the road at one point, its eyes flashing off my headlights, but thankfully it decided not to jaywalk and ran back into the forest.

We have our final day of driving today. We have to make it through LA. I am DEFINITELY going to make sure that happens during daylight! I'm so glad we had places to stay throughout this journey because I wouldn't have been able to make it otherwise. I would have been so exhausted that it would have taken 3x as long to get here if I didn't crash us to bits first, so THANK YOU a million times JEFF! and everyone that helped us out, because the coffee I need to keep going everyday is starting to match the amount of gas we use......

Until tonight or tomorrow am when we reach TX.....

Adrienne

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb