09JT Day 3 Wounded Knee, Devils Tower, Crazy Horse


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

2009 June Trip Day 3


25 JUNE 2009 Thursday

Gone from the hotel by 7am. The weather was great. I’m convinced it is actually cooler wearing my armored jacket than it is just a t-shirt. The only time I was uncomfortable was when I stopped to take pictures or get gas. Again the weather is great for riding. The scenery is just beautiful here.

First stop was Wounded Knee, SD. It was not what I was expecting. I had read again some accounts of the massacre on the internet the night before. The mass grave is atop a big hill. The only road I saw at the time was in really bad shape and was extremely rutty. I sat at the bottom of the hill and picked my route up the hill. Putting her in first I proceeded up the hill. About half way up I realized that I was going to have real issues getting off this hill if I have to go back down the same road I am taking up. When I reach the top I am the only person there, but soon there are a few couples milling around. From the top of the hill I can see the visitors center that is on the other side of the hill across the street. These people had parked there and walked up the hill. All of the pictures on the internet showed the mass grave by itself. However it was actually surrounded by other graves. There was church in back of the graveyard.

Wounded Knee itself was around 20 houses and a post office. There was no commerce there that I could see at all. Nothing was paved including the post office and it was the ugliest one I have ever seen. The patches of paint splotched around the exterior were tail tale signs of a problem with graffiti. These people are dirt poor. There was an young Native American there at the gravesite that was selling dream catchers, being the sucker I bought one. He informed the group there that the visitors center was closed because their was a ‘sweat’ the night before.

There was actually a choice of 3 roads leading to the top. All were steep. I had not come up the worst one, but there was a nicer one to go down on. I get off the hill without incident.

Traveling through the area the smell of the pines was refreshing. I was now heading toward Crazy Horse. Its after lunch and I stopped at a Big Bats gas station that ran a simple grill to order menu. I chose the Buffalo burger and was well rewarded for my choice.

While traveling through Wind Cave National Park it was evident that they had loose buffalo. I saw several on the way through. A cow and calf had a couple hikers cut off from their car.

Crazy Horse had made progress. It was $5 for a motorcycle to get in. I haven’t found my pictures from 2006 but I don’t think the hole was under the arm was there when I came through in 2006. The horse head is painted on the side of the mountain is new since 2006. I didn’t take the bus to the top, that was something that I had regretted not doing last time. So I had decided I was going to do it this time. But then I found out the ride to the top is only available as a member. The minimal membership eligible cost $125. This trip I learned that there are no pictures of Crazy Horse. He forbid anyone to take his picture. The figure of Crazy Horse is actually to represent all Native Americans. It was crowded and I didn’t stay long.

Next stop was Devils tower $5 to the top. Interesting. I always thought it was hollow inside, like a volcano. Wrong again. A popular rock climbing area, I didn’t get that close. Stops on the road up to the visitor center and on the way back down for pictures but the stay was not long. After Devils Tower I headed for the MT state line for an ABCs of Touring picture then headed back to SD, it was too late to make it to Regent ND. I am going to head back to and area in SD I know there are motels.

There was lots of road contruction and at one point or 2 pilot cars were used restricting traffic to one way one lane. At one of the road stoppages I got one of the truckers to speak to me on the CB radio. This was the first time I have actually used it since I bought it. I was only using it for the music amp function. Although I am on my 3rd antenna, seems people like to whip it till it breaks.

Belle Fourche SD would make a good jumping point for my route tomorrow, but their motels are full as the High School Rodeo Championship are being conducted over the weekend. When I pulled over to read a historical marker I learned that Geographic center of the USA is in Belle Fourche SD, that is if you include Alaska and Hawaii. If you do not include AK and HI then the center is about a mile north of Lebanon KS, I don’t know where the Smith Center KS is that the plaque in SD talked of.

I ended up staying at the Spearfish Creek Inn in Spearfish for $68. Dinner had been a tuna fish sandwich at a gas station.

Effie’s Odometer at the end of the day: 114813
Total Trip Miles: 1405
Trip Miles for the day: 432



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb