Rapid City, South Dakota


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Rapid City
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday January 21 2009



Rapid City, South Dakota



Oh what a sleep! I love these big pillow top-motel beds! I’m gonna get one of ‘em when I get home that’s for sure! Well we have one day to experience the most of this area of the US, so better get out of bed it’s 8 am.

Brekky for free in the hotel sweet! A WAFFLE MAKER! Bloody hell I’m in heaven! Some big, industrial sized waffle maker is sitting in the corner just begging for my attention! 3 dinner plate sized waffles with butter and maple syrup later I’m full as a goog, ready for the day. Argh….

First stop is the obligatory tour of Mt Rushmore. A big statue carved in the mountain, I’m so excited I don’t know what to expect! He he Well 20 mins down the road we spot a wildlife farm thingy called BEAR COUNTY and just to the side of the road there I @ 10 bear cub getting fed by a park ranger! So we quickly pulled the big Bruce beast to a halt to check it out. We were thrilled to find out that not only were there bear cubs, but Wolves and Bobcats too! Cool! Some quick snaps with the long lens and we’re on our way.

Washington, Jefferson, Roosevelt and Lincoln) but it definitely is more than just a statue, mush more. The memorial houses a humungous museum with all the How, When’s and Why’s. Also videos on a lot of significant American history, which for me was just so interesting to read. I spent a good hour touching base with all of what was there trying to take it all in. I really wish my comprehension was better. I’m pretty sure I read most of it twice. Boo. Now with somewhat of a gist of what the hell happened here I can hopefully appreciate fully the sights, memorials, statues, museums and whatever I’m about to see in the next few months. All in all a very enlightening experience. Well worth the $10 parking fee and free entry. I love free entries!

Leaving Mt Rushmore and looking at the Garmin on where to go next. Custer ( Yes, last stand Custer ) State park is just around the corner, so a round trip through there for lunch and home should round out the day. With all the nothingness around here, (most of South Dakota and Montana) I wasn’t expecting much with the park but it was crazy! Nice big pine trees, rocky outcrops and some of the windiest roads I’ve encountered! We saw Mule deer, White-tail deer, Chipmunks and some juvenile Buffalo. Nice.
Well back at the hotel now for a swim in the indoor pool with a cool slide, hot tub and steam room. All this for $15 each a night! Fingers crossed for some more cheap sleeps like this one!

Off on a 1450km drive to Chicago tomorrow, 3am start so off to bed.

Cheers!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



26th January 2009

Too quiet in the house!!
Hey you three ( five, sorry Bruce and Perez...)!! Wow, so far so good - sounds like a lot of fun! Glad to hear the roads have been nice for you.. Great pics - Thanks for showing Perez around, this trip will certainly break in his travelling legs!! Have a big ol' steak and beer for me, enjoy the adventures and have fun!! -Tim
30th January 2009

Pics!!
Wicked pics guys! That place looks amazing. Very jealous! So, do they have any plans to start carving Obama soon? lol

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb