The Badlands


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I wish I could convey the heat of this place. It's like opening an oven set around 325 degrees and crawling inside. It is also very reminiscent of the Painted Desert and Death Valley. A very cool drive around loop. I am on my way to Custer State Park to stay for 6 nights. I just left Mitchell, SD this morning after camping at Lake Mitchell campground. I did get to kayak on the lake this morning. That was nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

All to myselfAll to myself
All to myself

right on Lake Mitchell. Not another camper in sight.
Smores!!Smores!!
Smores!!

My dinner
My campfireMy campfire
My campfire

need it to cook the smores
What is Mitchell famous for?What is Mitchell famous for?
What is Mitchell famous for?

The one and only Corn Palace!!
View from a rest stopView from a rest stop
View from a rest stop

on I-90...vast
BillboardBillboard
Billboard

on I-90


Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb