My Summer Worship Life


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

For my own record I wanted to keep a list of where I have enjoyed worshipping this summer. It has been a great blessing to concentrate on my own worship life and simply enjoy the experience of being fed and strengthen through Word and Sacrament. I have been impressed and encouraged by what God's people are doing in different communities all around the world. I have heard the gospel proclaimed through great preaching. I have felt uplifted by amazing music, rich liturgy, and strong hymnody. God's spirit within me has been moved by heartfelt prayers lifted from a variety of voices within a congregation. I have been warmly welcomed and invited to share the Eucharist with my sisters and brothers in Christ from a variety of denominations. Again and again I have admired how Christ is alive and well - revealing God's love and grace in and through the Body of Christ, the Church. All summer long, no matter where I worship I am part of that Body and immediately included in the Koinonia fellowship of the people around me. While sitting in various pews I have also collected a few creative ideas and practices that I hope to introduce at St. Mark's. Such opportunities for me to worship and experience new things has been very strengthening and renewing. So far here is a recap of where I have enjoyed worshipping...

Holden Village, Washington
Saint John Lateran and St Andrew's Church, Rome, Italy
Onboard the Nautica off the coast of Turkey (Father's Day)
Grace Lutheran, Hendersonville, NC
Daily Devotions, Air Force Chaplain Corps College, Fort Jackson, SC
Interdenominational Service, while on a Spiritual Retreat at the Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary, Columbia, SC
First Presbyterian Church, Asheville, NC
University Lutheran Church, Cambridge, MA
Daily Eucharist service at the School of Theology and Ministry, Boston College, MA
Trinity (Episcopal) Church, Copley Square, Back Bay, Boston, MA
St. Ignatius of Loyola Roman Catholic Church, Boston College, MA
First Baptist Church, Asheville, NC
St. John's Lutheran, Spartanburg, SC (where my friend Mike Shackelford is the pastor)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb