Our Camino - Pretrip


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Hey there, it looks like I am off on another Camino. In 2017, I walked the Camino Frances, a 500-mile walk across the top of Spain to Santiago de Compostella, the resting place of Saint James. It wasn't easy, but it was fun. In 2019, I walked part of the Camino Portuguese, a 200-mile plus walk from Porto, Portugal to Santiago. This one wasn't as enjoyable, partly because I got lost a couple times, and party because I didn't make any friends. I was planning walking the Camino del Norte last year, but COVID intervened. My wife heard about my plans, and said she'd like to go with me. Since the Camino del Norte is a bit less crowded, but a lot more rugged, I suggested we do the Camino Frances. Well, after a lot of planning and a lot of trial walks, we are off! Today we take a flight from GSP Greenville, to Charlotte, to JFK, and finally Paris, France. We will spend a couple of days in Paris sightseeing, then take a train down to the southern part of France, at St. Jean-Pied-de-Port, the typical start for the Camino Frances. Then begins the 500-mile, 35 plus days of walking! My next blog will be from Paris, France.

Advertisement



5th May 2022

Camino bound...
Buen Camino! Having walked portions of the CF in 2016 and following you on your previous walks, I look forward to your blogs!
8th May 2022

Wow!
That's very exciting. Have a safe and fabulous trip and I look forward to seeing your updates :)

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb