Chaplain Candidate Course


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Directing this course for the first time was baptism by fire. Every day began at 0500 in order to be one step ahead of the students and every night ended at 2300 or later. As the course director it is my responsibility to line up "subject matter experts" to come in and teach the Chaplain Candidates what they need to know about serving in the USAF Chaplain Corps. I manage the course schedule, teach/brief the students on various blocks of material, lead them on a spiritual retreat, make sure they are ready for their final test and oversee every detail of the entire course. It is a great deal of responsibility, but I enoyed mentoring these seminary students and encourage their call to ministry. The learning curve was steep, but I hung in there and concentrated on providing the best possible experience for the students. I worked well with Chaplain Sumrall (who oversees this course) and felt I gained his trust and respect. I also had great support from Father Dan Sweeney and SSgt Denise Johnson. I am grateful to all three of them. The students were enthusiastic and their eagerness gave me the energy I needed to remain positive every day. All in all the first week went well and I felt comfortable leaving on Friday evening to meet my family for a weekend at the lake.

Thank you Lord for those you have called to serve in public ministry as pastors and chaplains. Amen.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb