Stupid close quarters and circulated air


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Carolina » Charleston
September 17th 2006
Published: September 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I'm sick. This was probably the worst possible time to get sick considering the limitations for treatment. I've had a sore throat since yesterday and my voice has left me as of about an hour ago. The congestion will probably settle in tomorrow.

But in the meantime, I don't really have access to hot water for making tea. They keep turning the water off in the mornings, so they can't make orange juice. The ship has dust and fumes everywhere that aren't helping keep my lungs very clean. And the infirmary only has limited drugs available. I got some throat lozenges this morning which only succeed in numbing my tongue, but do very little for my throat. I'm miserable.

I couldn't sleep at all last night because my throat hurt so much. I'm attempting to use Tylenol PM tonight. There's a slight chance that I'm getting tomorrow off work, but I don't know yet. So maybe I can sleep in--not that I can sleep through the construction that starts at about 7am.

I was thinking of renting a car and getting away from the ship tomorrow, if I do indeed get time off. I need to figure out where to go though. I might just try to go downtown and see the daytime sights, but I'd really like to get away a little farther. Maybe go somewhere I can't go using the ships transportation. I'm hoping I won't feel too much like crap tomorrow so I can partially enjoy my day.

We'll see.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb