4:40 p.m. Today in PA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
September 6th 2006
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The drive to PA was uneventful and it is wonderful to be visiting with Ellen and Dave. They always make me feel so welcome and I am so grateful to them both. Molly, their dog, comes and hangs out while I've been blogging. This house is set in the woods and I've seen several deer. I can look out the window of my room here while I type and see the trees....with an occasional leaf falling.

Rereading my journal...and writing it here says so much about the discomforts. LOL...I can think of a few more, but you've probably heard or imagined enough. Living a simple life out on a long distance backpacking trail is so many things. It is hard work. It's hot. It's freezing. It's wet. It's thirsty and hungry. It's muddy. There are blisters and mud and rocks and spiders and bugs. It's sweaty and stinky. It's finding true joy in very small things. It's watching that shiny 5" black salamander with white spots. It's wondering if you can get your camera out fast enough to get a picture of that deer...or just spend the time watching the deer as long as you can. It's sipping a hot drink at dusk and listening to coyotes. It's hearing rain on a tin roof, knowing you're dry and warm in your sleeping bag. It's having an obnoxious song play through your head as you pick up speed on a flat. It's having tried and true songs help you up a hill. It's meeting the most incredible variety of wonderful people and colorful characters you'd never ever get to meet if you weren't there...both hikers and townspeople. It's laughing and crying at the most unexpected times. It is where you are truly who you are at your core with the least pretense. It's exalting and humbling.

There are big questions ahead of me. There is time to heal the knee...better than a couple of days ago, but still taking stairs one step at a time. I don't have to answer the big questions today. I'm getting my food back on track and resting. Still waiting for my street clothes to arrive, but at least now have clean hiking garb. One of my favorite quotes is from a Harry Chapin song: "And there'll be time enough for thinking come tomorrow." That's a pretty good quote for today. I don't have to have all the answers today.

Back in 1997, I was inspired to thruhike the A.T. from Jean Deeds' book "There Are Mountains to Climb." All of us have mountains to climb that will exalt and humble us. These "mountains" mean something different to each one of us. One of the most exciting things about climbing those mountains is that you never know what the surprise will be around the next turn in the trail. I want to thank all of you for your love, support, interest, Foundation contributions, and true helping hands. May your next turn in the trail bring you a glorious vista, a great wildlife sighting and the relief of reaching shelter.

Advertisement



6th September 2006

You Are An Inspiration!
Shari, my friend, I'm so completely moved by your authenticity and your humanity. I've been reading your blogs as they've come in, rather than working...see what a bad influence you are?! Anyway, I have tears in my eyes and I'm just blown away by your commitment and courage. Shaved head, wounded knee, blisters, skinny bod and all...you rock! I love you and I'm sending tons of good healing energy your way. Take good care and love yourself for all that you've accomplished...you deserve it! Jody.
10th September 2006

Can't wait to see you
You are SUCH a great writer, and even though this hasn't gone quite as planned you sound so upbeat and positive! I am VERY proud of you and I can't wait to see you back home next week. We look good bald! Love, Mike
13th September 2006

I'm sooooooooo sorry!
Hi Shari, my dear sweet friend. I just found today your blog log and have read them all through. I was reduced to tears in sympathy for you. Why, oh why, do our bodies have to retaliate on us when we need them the most. I saw Mike's comment that you were coming home...........call me when you get in. I love you. My dad is coming for Christmas, so maybe the two of you can talk about the pain of leaving the trail when all you want to do is hike. He fortunately was able to finish the trail, but within a year developed asthma and has never been able to hike since (about 22 years now.). \Thank you for the wonderful blogs. Cannot believe that I lost your blog address, but was so happy when I found it today. I'm so proud of you and so proud to have you as my friend. You are such an inspiration to me. Take care of yourself and I'll see you when you get home, ok? Love ya, Margaret
15th September 2006

where are you?
are you home yet? and how is your knee? call me. Love Carol
25th September 2006

welcome back!
Shari - What a wonderful adventure, even if cut short. You have inspired all of your readers, especially Rotarians, with your spirit, honesty, determination and great writing about it all! Thanks for including me in your list. I have learned a lot and begun to think about what "adventures" I need to embark on in my own life.
27th September 2006

You are an inspiration!
Shari, Oh girl...I am so sorry your hike was cut short. I know how much you were looking forward to going out there and meeting new hikers and experiencing the adventure of it all. Keep the faith girl. There is still time for a "next time". Perhaps a smaller back back next time! Thank you for sharing your time on the trail. I enjoyed your writing and was sorry to come to the end of your comments. Pam

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb