Warriror Dash


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
August 26th 2013
Published: August 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

When I received a text asking if I would like to join a friend competing in a Warrior Dash I instantly wanted to say yes. When I saw the price tag attached to such an event, I sadly had to say no. BUT when the text came once again asking if I'd replace her former partner I hoped on board immediately!

I had heard a lot about these warrior dashes, tough mudders and spartan races and was curious about them and excited to actually participate. It sounds as though the other two may be a smidge harder but this seemed like a great way to get involved with something a bit more extreme than just running a 5k. And who isn't excited to dive into mud after leaping over fire and climbing up and down cargo nets.

With just four days to prepare for the race I didn't quite prepare at all. I kept my normal work out routine and prepped a deliicous meal for the day of the event. I didn't even google the obstacle courses I would be running, but my camp kids sure did. In fact after bring up the website the kids just asked one thing of me, they asked me not to die. Actually they told me not to come in last AND then not to die.

The morning of the race my mom, brother and I packed up and headed off to PA to our little cabin in the woods where I spent a total of 5 minutes before heading back out to head on to the race. The race would be held at Poconos International Raceway, which after a few wrong turns we found our way to a crazy packed parking lot.

A bit behind schedule I scurried myself into the arena where I met up with my friend and her family. We attempted to match, with black shorts, blue knee high socks, and a navy bandana but really we were lacking compared to the others there. Women in tutu's, men in speedos, costumes galore and so much more. It was impressive to think that these people were going to run a 3.3 mile race and climb through obstacles in full body suits and such.

I went to register where I had to convince the volunteer to give me Kristin O'Conner's, the girl who unfortunately couldn't make it, registration. He was hesitant but eventually handed over my bib, free beer token, warrior shirt and oh so fabulous warrior hat. By the time this was all done it was about time to start meandering over to the start line. We passed by two obstacles which included jumping over fire and swimming through mud under barb wire.

We said our See ya later's to our folks and headed for the start line where we discussed our approach. Our goal, make it through the race. A 5k run is a breeze but with the obstacles how much harder could it really be? Our announcer seemed to make it sound impenetrable which got both of us questioning our athleticism.

The first heat went and 15 minutes later off we went. Jogging at an easy pace we came upon our first obstacle about 3/4 of a mile in. Diving under barb wire I was small enough to practically shimmy under it instead of full on belly crawl. After the barb wire came tires under a net which I maneuvered with ease. It helped that my particular area seemed to be missing a few tires.

When my partner came through we continued on. We scaled walls, climbed rope, slide down muddy hills and then ascended the other side, together we maneuvered through tunnels and shimmied along cargo nets. Towards the end we climbed up a cargo net and descended a wall with janky footholds while mud sprayed down from above and to the sides of us. Finally we came upon the fire which we gazelle like lept over and then into the mud we went. Crawling under barb wire with just our heads above it we thought we were home free. That is until we took a step and BAM were up to our chest in mud once more. Climbing up the other side the two of us dashed across the finish line earning us a time just under an hour.

The Warrior Dash was a blast and I would love to do another, the next time at a more intense and less relaxed pace. Perhaps going for the gold in fact? We will see next time how fast I can really run one of these suckers! And in the end my one battle wound is but a scratch on the knee, not to shabby if I do say so myself!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb