Earthquake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
February 28th 2010
Published: February 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
I know some of you may be wondering about my Chilean friends and family.

As I'm sure you heard on the news there was an 8.8 Earthquake southwest of Santiago. According to friends, just recently the president announced 708 dead and more than 400 missing. My friends and family in Copiapo and La Serena, though they felt it and some of the aftershocks were not harmed by it. They lost power for several hours but now have it back.

-James was in La Serena at the time and is completely fine, his aunt, uncle and cousins were traveling in Santiago but got news to him that they are ok.
-My host siblings from my first host family were all in Copiapo at the time of the earthquake, but there may have been considerable damage to their Santiago appartment.
-Friends in Santiago have been in contact and are safe and sound. Just waiting to hear from two, but they are in an area that was minimally affected.
-A friend's little sister is south of Santiago right now, but we have heard she is fine though she has no way to get home because of the roads.
-Yaya's relatives in Vina del Mar are fine, though the house took some damage.
-One friend is missing in Concepcion. That is one of the hardest hit areas, I don't know when communication will be possible from there.

I still can't get through on the phone, but I helped another exchange student get news of her Chilean boyfriend by sending the number to a friend in Chile on msn, who then eventually was able to call him. It was good to feel like I was helping someone...

Chile is well built for earthquakes, and their Red Cross and other rescue teams are very good. We can hope for the best in this tragic catastrophe.

FUERZA CHILE (L)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb