I'm a Stranger Here Myself


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
April 14th 2009
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I could not get to sleep again last night. The fire alarm has two green LEDs on it that blinked at random intervals and reflected on the ceiling, driving us both nuts. This morning came really quickly as a consequence. Sarah took the first leg of the drive while I slept. Just like the first tour, I woke up today with a slight head cold- mostly runny nose and things, but annoying enough.

Knowing I wouldn’t be driving a lot of the time, I bought Sarah a few audio books to listen to while I’m unconscious. Today we listened to Bill Bryson’s “I’m a Stranger Here Myself.” It was great. He grew up in the States, but then lived in England for 20 years or so and then wrote a weekly column in an English paper about his experiences moving back. He’s quite entertaining. I heard all about about 40 minutes of it, while I was sleeping, so does that count as reading another book? Because we were listening to that one, I didn’t get any reading done, unfortunately.

I told Sarah that instead of going all the way to Pennsylvania, we should go to Boston and turn right. She knew exactly what that meant- Interstate 90 runs all the way east to Boston, and all the way west to Seattle, passing through home on the way. But alas, we continued our journey south with only a few more days before being on the other end of I-90.

I drove the last small bit. We were in 5 states today: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York and Pennsylvania, where we are now. Hoping to get to bed early tonight, as we have another long drive tomorrow, to Sarah’s uncle’s house. We’re almost there…almost done…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb