Take Me Home, Country Roads


Advertisement
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Dana and the ChoirDana and the ChoirDana and the Choir

Can you spot at mzungu?
I don’t have much to say today. I woke up, a bit sicker than I went to sleep, and drug myself into the shower and then into the car. After passing out (which was after our final hotel breakfast), I was awake about 75% of the ride, amazingly enough. Our last hotel was good to us, but I don’t feel like I’m going to miss it- except maybe the people who come in every day to clean up and wash the towels- that I will miss.

We listened to another book by Bill Bryson called “A Walk in the Woods” about his traveling through the Appalachian Mountains on the famous Appalachian Trail. While he was reading it, we drove through some of the amazing sites he described- the Blue Mountains and fantastic valleys. We were in Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, and North Carolina today. Now we’re at Sarah’s aunt and uncle’s house. (I only had to shower today because we were seeing her family- had it been my family or another hotel, I would have skipped that step.) They’re great and took us to dinner and told us lots of stories.

That’s about all that happened today. But
CrewCrewCrew

Does this remind anyone of The Sound of Music?
I do have a few other stories to tell.

Today: Sarah got a text from Turner. It said "we have a van here for 32 that needs to go back when you go to the airport." She responds and looks at me. "It's a bus" she says matter-of-factly. I look at her confused, thinking maybe she's trying to be funny and I'm missing it. But she's totally serious. I ask again. "It must be a bus. 32 people could not fit in a van. It must be a bus." I'm thinking, "Is she joking? If not, why would they have us drive a bus back? Why would Choir 32 have rented a bus in the first place?" Then she looks at me again, and with total seriousness says, "Oh, he must have meant CHOIR 32." I look at her blankly. She was serious. She really, honestly thought they rented a bus, or something big enough for 32 people. Perhaps 2 16-passenger vans.

Last Monday: Auntie Sally was talking about important people and said, “The Queen of England, the President of America, the President of Uganda, and whatever Canada has.”

Last Monday: As we were leaving, Sarah said she was expecting a goodbye smooch. Then she said, “Smooching is kind of like being tickled.”

P.S. Tomorrow, April 16th, don't wear shoes to raise awareness for the millions of people around the globe who don't have them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb