The Outdoor Type


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi there again!

Okay, so here it is- the first entry from the U.S.! I got to Camp on Saturday, after the night in New York and a hideous journey of delays and discomfort on the way over. It's all still pretty overwhelming in some ways, it's a huge place, and there are so many new names and faces that I'm trying to get to grips with... plus I'm learning that not all people totally understand my own personal brand of "humour"... in fact some people here seem to be quite humourLess... hehe! But most people so far seem awesome, and lovely.

The kids actually get here on Saturday, so this week is gonna be one of orientation, and the whole "getting to know you thing" (as well as giving me the chance to get to grips with the heat, the wildlife as I'm outdoors All the time it seems and keyboards with everything in the wrong place...!). I'm gonna have 7-8 yr old girls in my cabin, with 4 other Camp Counselors, so it's gonna be abit mad! Dunno quite what to expect with the kids... I'll keep you posted on that one... Although I have been told that there's gonna be a set of Triplets AND a set of Twins in our cabin- AAH! I hope they're all non-identical for purely selfish reasons, and for reasons of sanity. Crazy.

There is literally EVERYTHING at this camp... as you'll have gathered a bit if you had the chance to check on the Camp Tioga website in my earlier post... (guilt guilt... :p hehe!) From a trapeze, to 2 pools, to basketball, golf, dance, drama, 2 lakes, and so much more. I think there'll be 300 kids, so I guess a good bit of kit is needed to keep them entertained... and I don't think they'll be disappointed... (although quite a few kids are "Returners"). One thing though... it is America... and Everything has sugar in it by the bucketload... I've been drinking flourescent juice (blue... pink... green...) now for 3 days and am feeling slightly radioactive... :p

I'm looking forward to the kids getting here tho... it'll be a challenge undoubtedly... even getting out of bed at the silly time they are likely to wake me at in the morning will be a challenge, but I have a suspicion a huge learning curve is on the way. And I also reckon a great deal of fun is to be had too!

I'd better head back to the cabin now, as we have a meeting thingie in a few minutes... but one thing I should really point out at this point is the photo issue. I dunno when I'll get pics up here... hopefully Very soon... but it's a bit up in the air... I'm not allowed to take pictures in the camp itself but will be able to on my days off... and the additional worry is that these computers might be take uploading pics so I might wait til I have free time and head to an internet cafe in town... Either way, pictures will def be on the cards if I can manage it. And asap.

Hope everyone is healthy, happy and not too damp at home... (I've got a bit of sunburn already... waah! I had cream on... :'( ) Email me, and leave comments if you get the chance, the camp have blocked Facebook and Bebo etc... Miss you all already (some more than others... 😉 ) oh and I miss my cat, Lily, So much it's untrue.

Speak soon,

Love Harriet xox 😊

P.s. All the best to Neil in the Dept of Education who is in hospital right now having an operation I think... I won't say much more as it's a rather sensitive issue :p I hope Peter, Simon, Kevin and Steph give you an easier time than usual when you get back, and that the stress ball attacks are kept to a minimum :p hehe!

Bye everyone! hxo


Advertisement



22nd June 2007

hellooooooooooo!
hey haz! just back from spain last night. had a really good holiday, except matt was sick the last couple of days, think it was food poisoning. hes still not feeling the best! im gonna miss you over the next few months! hope you are having a fabulous time tho and i will keep checking your blog. lotsa love jen xoxox
22nd June 2007

Theyre coming!
AHHHHHHHHH! Have fun tomorrow :p lj
23rd June 2007

Hey!
Heya Haz, just a quick note to say hope you're gettin on well and the kids aren't too scary! im sure ur havin a great time :) im off on holiday on monday but will be in touch when im back anyway! take care and have fun!! A x
26th June 2007

horror!
The camp and the Dept of Education have both blocked bebo! You'll have to update this much more frequently so we can nosey at your life and so I can relay any gossip to Joan! Hope you're looking after yourself! xxo Lindsay

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb