Day One: Reading, PA ... Yahooo!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Reading
July 10th 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

And vacation starts today!!! We drove from our home sweet home down here to Reading, Pennsylvania. We had a fun ride listening to music, drinking tons of coffee, and watching movies. On the road we saw a sign to Quakertown!!! That was so cool. Our hotel room is fantastic. There are two big beds, a great desk, a view of a volleyball court, and of course a bathroom, yeeessss!

Cool Facts:
Reading was founded by William Penn's two sons, Thomas and Richard, in the year 1748. The town was named after an English town that their ancestors lived in. It was used as a supply base in the Blue Mountains in the French and Indian War. Now, Reading has a big industry: clothing manufacturing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th July 2009

Very cool very quaker
Hi guys, Glad you are underway. Love, Paulo
11th July 2009

Burritos
Have you read 'Blue Highways' by William Least Heat Moon? An epic road trip fueled by apple pie.
11th July 2009

Best road read ever
This made me think of reading 'The Lord of the Rings' while i sailed down to Panama. Wow. That was some good reading....
11th July 2009

blogging
Your blog inspired me to get Ellie to blog! XOXOXO
11th July 2009

Have fun!
What an adventure - it's fun to read about it! Mies
11th July 2009

sew thrilled!
hi girls! i am sew egg-sighted to follow this blog! i found the first entry and photographs exciting. we will travel vicariously! love you so much! john--hi! i love you too! love--amy
11th July 2009

rad@
wow, you guys are lucky, the only road trip that I get to do this month is to and from work. at least I get to do it on a bike... Love, Joaquin
11th July 2009

The Adventure begins
How exciting to be on your way. It is so cool that I can follow your trip like this. I love you guys and really look forward to seeing you. What is on top of you car? Love you guys, Mark
11th July 2009

The Adventure begins
How exciting to be on your way. It is so cool that I can follow your trip like this. I love you guys and really look forward to seeing you. What is on top of you car? Love you guys, Mark
11th July 2009

You go girls!
Hey, I hope you have a wonderful, exciting, fun time on your journey- I can't wait to read about the adventure! Love Susan
11th July 2009

another cool fact
The village I grew up in was named Penn after William Penn. He is buried near where I lived. Reading is about 20 miles from where i lived. So Ellie, did you bring a computer with you? What movies did you watch. I will look forward to the next entry. Have fun you two. love Lynette
11th July 2009

Yea!
Enjoy, guys! Don't forget to stop in Hershey. just follow your noses.
11th July 2009

Hooray!
I hope you all have a great adventure! Sounds like you re having lots of fun already! I m so glad your hotel room has a bathroom, what a relief!
12th July 2009

Thanks, Everyone!!!
It's really fun to read all of your comments. You all rock! Here are some answers to ?s: We have a Thule on top of our car to hold our camping supplies. Yes, we have a computer with us. So far, I've watched "Freedom Writers Diary" and small parts of other movies. I'm reading "The Witch of Blackbird Pond."
15th July 2009

Itinerary ?
Hi Lisa! I'll send you the itinerary...don't want to publish it on a public blog... XOXOXO
15th July 2009

itinerary ?
Hi Laurel! I'll send you the itinerary...don't want to publish it on a public blog... XOXOXO
17th August 2009

hello!
hi ellie, cool blog!!!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb