Updates on Life in Philly


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Philadelphia
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So... I think I failed to mention some things in the last entry. And things have been happening... So here is an update 😊

On my first day (this is OLD news, haha) I was pulled into Lori (the "Boss")'s office. It was the first day so I was fairly certain I hadn't screwed up yet. Well, what happened was by far the coolest thing that has happened to me so far. On my first day, within a few hours, I was OFFERED A JOB! She told me that since her and Beth are both pregnant, they'll be hiring someone to cover Beth's spot, but she had just found out/started telling people she was also pregnant... which means they'll need an additional staff member. It would just be a temp position, which is perfect for me. I would work at St. Joe's until I start graduate school. What's even cooler about all that is working at a college is going to make me much more marketable to grad schools because I'll have that 6 month period of working experience. So... the only stipulation is that I HAVE TO PASS THE BOC. No pressure, right!? But if I do pass it/when I do pass it, I would be working with the softball team, which is awesome. Both Jess (the coach I am with now) and the softball coach (Terri) are rumored to be the most fun coaches to work with. And I heard mention of a trip to Arizona! I really do love my job. I hope everything works out. It definitely makes studying more worth while and makes me keep on it.

Soccer: They're doing really well! Even though they lost two tough games in Cali, they've won the last three games. The first two were shuts outs: Against St Peters they won 3-0, scoring all the goals in the second half! Against Lehigh they won 4-0, scoring all the goals in the second half, three in the last like, fifteen minutes! And the games last Sunday against Marist they won 2-1 in the second overtime! It is so exciting. And after every game, home and away, the parents have food and drinks for us! It's so nice. It reminds me of how much I loved playing and all the support I always got from my parents and my teammates parents.

Coaches: The coaches are still awesome. After the friday night games they usually invite me out with them, which is a blast. They're so funny. And they're in their early 30's so they're not that old, haha 😉 The first time I went out, the guy who came with us to film in Cali was there. He's hilarious. He's that guy who has infinite amounts of information, useless information about everything. He just has all these facts and tidbits of info on every subject imaginable. There were a few marketing guys there who were really funny as well. It's nice to make friends, haha. Especially since it can get a little boring on the weekends at night. One of the guys just spent a month in Beijing working at the Olympics for Visa. So he had a lot of good stories. Met Michael Phelps among others. His sister plays basketball (not on the US team, though) so he knew a lot of the women's basketball players.

I finally found a place to get my haircut that wasn't 50 bucks. I seriously walked in, got my hair trimmed up in less than 10 minutes and paid 13 dollars. And it looks good! I just wanted to trim the split ends and she did it perfectly. I was so happy! A small thing, but it's hard to find that sort of thing in a new town.


I had a rough patch last week. There's a lot going on upstairs. I need to start thinking more seriously about grad school. I have to start applying in a month or so. I need to think about where I want to live. I need to think about what I want in my future. It's hard. It's hard because I'm not ready to go back to Michigan where my family is. I might end up there in the future (near a lake!), but right now, it's just not time. I like it out east. I like the scenery out west. I want to experience as much as I can before it's time to get serious about a life with a husband and kids. Jay is in NY for another year and a half. There are not really any schools withing five hours of him that I'm looking at. Long distance relationships are not fun! We're making it work, but it gets hard some days. Ok, I'm lying... it's hard most days. But I'm hanging in there.

My family might come out to see me in a few weeks. I think that will be so perfect. I am hoping it works out that weekend that Traci and her family will be free so we can meet up with them somewhere. 😊

I watched the Cowboys vs the Eagles game... I definitely almost started giving someone a hard time monday morning about wearing an Eagles shirt, then I remembered that I AM IN Philly, and that Eagles fans are absolutely ridiculous.... seriously, since I have been here I have realized that they truly are die hard. But... alas! My boys pulled it off and I got bragging rights in the training room all day yesterday!

I also watched the Pittsburgh/Cleveland game the night before... Thought about RJ, Jessie and Aunt Janice. It was a good game. I didn't really care who won it... but it was such a low scoring game!

Anyway.
Feel free to call me or write me snail mail!
That's always fun to get 😊

Love/Miss you all

Megan

989.400.2994

5967 Overbrook Ave
Phila, PA 19131

Advertisement



18th September 2008

hi
hi megan so how is it there? are you having fun? if so thats good. from kourtni. =)

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1018.4kb