Traveling Through States


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

When we left New York, we entered a 2.5 mile tunnel under the Hudson River. We were advised that the tubes were actually completed in 1910 by the Pennsylvania Railroad. Upon exiting the tunnel, we found ourselves viewing the wetlands and sports complex of the Meadowlands located in New Jersey. Shortly after we passed Newark, Elizabeth, New Brunswick, and the capital of New Jersey, Trenton. The train stopped in Philadelphia, where we were able to get off the train and stretch a little. The break was short but we all needed it. Once we all boarded on the train, we headed towards Delaware and then Baltimore. The conductor told us that Baltimore is a major Seaport and that it was founded in 1706. We whizzed through our nations capital, Washington, DC and as we crossed the 383 mile Potomic River, we were able to see the Pentagon and Arlington National Cemetery. By this part of the ride I was very hungry so I decided to grab lunch in the dining car. The menu options were pretty good and the food was very tasty. After lunch, I was tired of staring out the window so I opened a good book that I had brought on the ride with me. While I was reading my book, I must have dozed off because when I woke up it was dark outside. Everyone was moving about the train to go to the dining cart for dinner. Rather than join the gang, I decided to order it to my seat. For dinner I enjoyed a good steak and after I ate, it was time for bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb