Day 17


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
October 6th 2009
Published: October 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up today thinking that it was cold. It wasn't until I realised that my fly sheet was glistening with ice that I realised just how cold it was. The first frost of the year!
I reluctently climbed out of my sleeping bag and put just about all the clothes on that I have with me, including both pairs of socks and a thermal top. As I got outside and looked around everything had a white tinge and my bike had a layer of ice all over it. Who says its always warm in California??
So a very cold me got everything packed up and on my way. Luckily I had two big hills to climb this morning that warmed me up and an hour later I could feel both my feet and my hands again, bonus!
From there I climbed over the last of the Californian hills and into Crescent City where I found some hot chocolate and a kids surfing competition. It was great watching these tiny kids on long boards (about 10 feet long) trying to surf.
I also met a couple of girls on the street and fixed one of their wheels for them in a trade for the Oregon bicycle bible. A map with all campsites, mileages, towns and just about everything you need on it. Score. I also bought a real map just to be on the safe side.
So with confidence and a slight tail wind I crossed into Oregon, my second state. And after about 10 miles found my campsite which is great. The showers here are free so I had my longest shower for 2 weeks which was amazing, especially after such a cold day. It seems to of gotten dark very fast tonight or maybe I'm just late today but I had to pack up all my dishes and food in the dark tonight. I think that’s going to happen a lot more as I push north. I bet its already getting dark at about 6 up there, eek.
So today's stats:

Ride time - 4:55:04
Average speed - 20.9km/h
Max speed - 55.5km/h
Distance - 103.16km
Trip distance - 1601.44km

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb