Day 16


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
October 6th 2009
Published: October 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am glad to report that last nights camping experience in the dunes was a success! Although I did awake to a very cold world, I'm definitely going further north. The gloves and the warm jacket were on from the word go today and after pushing my bike through the dunes was back on the road. The views this morning were amazing, looking out across an inlet towards Eureka in the distance, stunning.
Then it was back on the free way for the remainder of the day which means fast riding and a good shoulder to ride on.
I have decided that the last few days I have definitely been in small town America. Redneck central, everyone speaks slightly slower and there is a definite feeling of being an outsider in the towns here. One guy that I met said a local shot a bullet in front of his bike in one of the towns the other day, not sure if I believe him but it makes you keep your head down a bit.
On a lighter note me and the bike passed our 2000km anniversary today!
I had a chuckle to myself when I got near my campsite tonight and saw signs warning people that the elk are wild and dangerous..only in America! I am promised that I should awake to elk grazing in the field next to my tent so hopefully they will be there and I can get some good pics of them.
Tonight is my last night in California, tomorrow is Oregon. One state closer to a warm bed and a pillow.
My guide book tells me that I have two big climbs tomorrow, 2,000 feet of up in total so I hope that the wind isn't too strong and I can get over them before lunchtime comes.

Ok so today's stats:

Ride time - 4:14:53
Average speed - 20.6km/h
Max speed - 52.5km/h
Distance - 87.2km
Trip distance - 1498.27km

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb