These are a few of my favorite things


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
June 28th 2022
Published: June 28th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Bear Vault 500Bear Vault 500Bear Vault 500

The BV500 is just right for a solo hiker/camper. Some parks and states require having a SIBBG approved container AND 25 feet of rope to hang food, dishes and trash from. This canister states that it holds 7 days of food or 11.5 liters. I beg to differ on that calculation.
The first overnight, local, dry camp trip was a hit! I love my large tent that connects to the back of the car. The first attempt at set up was a fail and I was second guessing my tent choice. Each time I set up and tear down, I am getting better and better at it. About my favorite little things: #1 easily is the LuminAid Titan 2-in-1 solar lantern. Don and I are both taking this one of these plus I have an extra basic LuminAid lantern which is more lightweight but does not charge other devices. These are great for any household during power outages, on the boat, in the camper, hikers and bikers. #2 is the REI toiletry bag. Organization is the key to happiness for an OCD woman. Keeping all cooking, food, toiletry, sleeping etc. items together will be key to completing tasks successfully day after day. If a lighter gets misplaced, the car may have to be emptied in order to find it so that a meal can be cooked. For this reason I have vested into many dry bags and plastic totes to keep small items together.

I decided to invest in a portable
Large REI Toiletry BagLarge REI Toiletry BagLarge REI Toiletry Bag

Many solo women travelers highly suggested this travel tote. The detail that makes the REI version different from the others is the the hanging strap!
toilet. I will be disperse camping with many other campers near popular national parks. After researching it appears that I will be very close to other campers so setting up a private privy is a necessity. I am use to being in the PNW, we have trees everywhere, however once I am visiting other states I realized that I won't always be able to dig a hole, set a tent stake, or find potable water. I had to make changes to some of my gear and a toilet is one of them.

Recent purchases have been, netted grocery bags (IKEA) to hang fresh foods in the car, insulation liner (THD) that I have cut out to fit the windows in the back of the car. The front of the car will be blocked off with fabric "curtains" that can open and close. These will all provide privacy at night, when dressing and using the toilet or showering. Folding portable table, rechargeable fan and storage drawers for organization. I am planning on heading to Seattle WA on the 5th of August, then heading East from there and the adventure begins!

Don't call it a dream, call it a plan!
Portable Fan & Luminaid Titan LanternPortable Fan & Luminaid Titan LanternPortable Fan & Luminaid Titan Lantern

I thought a portable fan was a "luxury" item. After speaking with a van camper I learned it is a necessity. Mold apparently is a big issue when car camping. LuminAid Titan 2-in-1 solar lantern. It will lighten up a large area, charge a phone or other small rechargeable items all by solar. The strap is velcro and can easily attach in the tent, car or on a back pack to gain power while I am hiking. It is inflated by pulling it open (self inflates) and shines light from all side and bottom.


Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th August 2022

Nice!
Great tips on these products. I finally replaced my aging toiletry bag with a new REI one and I do love it. I am going to check out your solar lamp suggestion. Appreciate that you have made curtains and are so thoughtful about your set up!

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb