Preparing for a solo road trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
May 18th 2022
Published: May 18th 2022
Edit Blog Post

It has been a busy couple of months as I am learning more and more about the websites, mapping options etc., to plan my road trip. Reviewing the gear I will need for car camping, hiking, backpack camping, and who knows what else that comes my way has been a lot of fun. Luckily there are many solo women on the roads since Covid that have made blogs public that I have learned so much from. REI stocks should be up with the amount of gear I have purchased for this adventure. First was my tent, housing is very important. Although I plan on sleeping in my car most of the time, I do want to have a small tent for backpacking into remote locations and a larger tent next to my car for a bug free zone to stretch out and relax in. Final result is using my husbands 2 man REI dome tent which is both lite weight and compact for backpacking and I purchased a 8'x8' tent by Rightline that attaches to the rear end of my Subaru Outback. With a center height of 7'2", I will be able to get dressed, do yoga, hang a light and have private space outside of my car as an option. Next on the priority list is sleeping accommodations. While I plan on sleeping in the spacious back end of the car, padding and warmth/coolness are still a factor. After much deliberation and asking the REI rep to set up every sleep mat they carry... I have purchased the Big Agnes Insulated Q-Core Deluxe Sleeping Pad while car camping and the Klymit Insulated Static V Lite Sleeping Pad for backpacking. The Trekology Ultralight inflatable pillow (backpacking only) won me over on ratings and comfort. Finally the sleeping bag, NEMO Disco 15 Sleeping Bag - Men's is the best on the market today. I have sewn a liner sheet to put in the bag so I won't have to wash it frequently on the road.

Everything else that I have purchased has been for day to day comfort under various conditions. I hope to introduce those items as I go. This weekend I am planning my first camping trip (local) to try out some of my new gear and see if I have made the right choices on what to bring and insure that everything works and sets up correctly. This first blog is learning opportunity for me using this site and an introduction to my trip plan.

Say YES to new adventures!

Michelle

Advertisement



28th June 2022

Exciting times are ahead!
Great start to your blog, I will follow you into the mist of Avalon:)
3rd August 2022

You are ready!
Looks like you are all set. You will be in my thoughts every day and I will be counting the days until we meet up.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb