Cape Blanca


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » West Coast
April 29th 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After an absurdly brief overnight in Portland I set out for Flint Rock, California, taking the 101 down from Lincoln City, Or. My trusty mileage map said it was just over five hundred miles. I knew that it would take longer than the 8.5 hours projected because I'd have to stop and stretch my legs, and grab a beer or two (for later) at the Rogue Ales Public House in Newport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Rouge Ales Public HouseRouge Ales Public House
Rouge Ales Public House

I knew I was going through Newport so I just had to stop by. Glad I did too. It's in this really cool part of town down by the old harbour. Beers are still expensive though!
Sea Lion Cave?Sea Lion Cave?
Sea Lion Cave?

You can't really tell but this is a picture of a Sea Lion cave. Just up and to the left of the center of the frame there are some lounging on the rocks by the cave's entrance. This was as close as I got because I had a long way to go and I heard that the Sea Lions were charging cover...
Cape BlancaCape Blanca
Cape Blanca

Can you see my campsite? NO! Me hide like ninja.
Actually we just hid right around back. Actually we just hid right around back.
Actually we just hid right around back.

This part of the park was technically closed, but we managed to sneak in and out unnoticed.
Not a bad viewNot a bad view
Not a bad view

especially when considering the price of accommodation...
Home sweet squatting...Home sweet squatting...
Home sweet squatting...

Up first thing in the morning. The lighthouse was still on.
Big up, Oregon.Big up, Oregon.
Big up, Oregon.

When this photo was taken I had not yet been to Big Sur, Ca. and Oregon was still on the top of the list of retirement spots.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb