then comes the rain...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » West Coast
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was a bit concerned the first week of the trip about the state of my fitness and the state of Princess, my classic 12-speed bike.

I ate myself silly for the first few days building back those leg muscles I'd forgotten I didn't have anymore. Princess' low gear is not so low which has meant some knee-grinding climbs for me. Fortunately, the Washington state country road run that we were on had mostly gentle hills and little traffic - a good warm up for both the body and the nerves.

Derek fell down on Day 4. He pretty seriously scrapped up his knees (and butt and shoulder) and has put him on driver duty for the last several days which has meant non-stop riding for the rest of us. Check out http://balle-on.travellerspoint.com/ for updates on our trip.

We arrived on the coast on Day 7. Days 8 and 9 had rain and wind and the accompanying hands like iceblocks, soaking clothes and shivers. Lisa, Bryan and I have settled into a good pace of knocking off 65 to 80 miles (up to 130 km) a day. It's intense, but also good fun.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

the rainy coastthe rainy coast
the rainy coast

Oregon Coast
sunny viewssunny views
sunny views

Oregon Coast


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb