Twenty-Five Seventy-Five


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Seaside
July 17th 2015
Published: July 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It's that time of year again, and a very momentous one at that. Thursday night has arrived and I should be packing, BUT, I thought I would get a head start on blogging about our impending trip to South Dakota. It was 2011 when I gave birth to this baby blog. Much like my attempts at maintaining photo albums (ask my kids), this endeavor has been hit and mostly miss.

This time last year, our journey was uncertain. David, who I will only this once refer to as Dear Hubby Wubby, had just been released from the hospital. Two very long months of hospital stays, a 15 pound weight loss, unanswered questions, and finally a surgery to gut out the problem (pun intended), the evil pancreatitis had been slain. You wanna ride 1,500 long, hot, deserted miles in less than a week of your "release"? Really? You're kidding right? Well, he wasn't kidding. I have known and loved two men whose lives mirrored the motto "Mind Over Matter; my father and David.

Twenty-five Seventy-five is not the title of my new science fiction novel. This year commemorates the seventy-fifth anniversary of motorcycle enthusiasts gathering together, making a map dot, blink your eyes and you will miss it town, swell like my fingers on a hot day. STURGIS!!!! YEAH BABY!!!! This will be David's twenty-fifth appearance, and he will be no less cool than the first time he rode into town on his iron horse. Can you say S W A G?

As excited as I am, I dread the thought of being so long without seeing my precious loved ones. Facetime may relieve some of the angst, and I'm sure the grandkids are looking forward to Grandma's corny video productions. I think my favorite was my impression of a rooster, coiffed as I was with shampoo bubbles and smudged mascara. Bathtubs make great echoing sounds. Not, grammy, not.

LET THE ADVENTURE BEGIN.

Advertisement



17th July 2015

Looking forward to this Val! (Though when on the road may forget how to get in again.) Maybe we will cross paths: heading west today. Should be in BC for about 2 weeks and then head south east and probably through Sturgis. Look for a bike! (pun intended) :)
18th July 2015

Chris you may be coming to Sturgis? Wow!!!!! I will send you my number, let's keep in touch. Are you coming as far out as Oregon? You can come stay in our apartment and we can wine and dine!!!!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb