Condors, Pelicans, Elk, Redwoods and Wildflowers!


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

A wildlife update is needed methinks.

If I have seen one Californian Condor I have seen a hundred - well I think thats what they are - big wing span, red heads - soaring on thermals all along the coast from California to Oregon ... and there I was on a windy headland looking at some lighthouse when these 4/5 birds almost flew over my head - pelicans I thought. There have been so many stopping off places along the route (I have driven 880 miles since San Fran now) I have lost track of which bit of coast line is which.

I had lovely sunshine + blue skies the first 2 days - and when I say the road hugged the coastline and was bend after bend up and down I mean it - for about 150 miles or more !!!I thought I did bendy roads in New Zealand - this was much more. Of course this enables you to have wonderful views of this craggy coastline - green lush hillsides and then some mountainous cliffs...and all bedecked with lots and lots of wildflowers - including the California poppy - and here in Oregon rhodedendrums and some other yellow and orange shrubs are in bloom. Maybe some of them are not indiginous brought in by the colonials but who cares - they look so beautiful.

The road from San Fran to Medocino ( town where old drama series Murder she Wrote was filmed) was picture postcard views at every bend - if I had stopped at every lookout I would never have made any headway. Mendocino was a cute little town - wooden house and wooden water towers - and good clam chowder in the old Mendocino Hotel - with interesting decor.

Then I was driving throught Redwood country - well what can I say - VERY TALL TREES and very BIG - beautiful forests for miles and miles - so lush and green with mosses and ferns - and at one place I even paid the $5 entry to drive thru a tree... you know wot a cheapskate I can be ( sometimes!!) but I thought I had come all the way from England - I had to do it!!! There were lots of pulloffs for parking and trails - one of which I walked where one of the tallest trees had actually fallen down. I am not sure which ones are taller these redwoods or the trees in Western Oz - cos they are pretty tall too. Anyway who cares about how big /tall ??- they are magnificent.

And somewhere along the way a sign said Elk Meadows - so I stopped and there they were in the distance and herd of females basking in a pond in the meadow. Occasionally the fog rolled in and a side trip coastal view on a crappy road was a washout as I then couldn't see the view... but you can't have it always.

So there were warnings about bears and mountain lions in Arizona and Yosemite - and now it was warnings about the Elk ...and next thing I noticed signs saying you are entering or leaving a tsunami hazard zone - that freaks me out a bit - having experienced the Christchurch earthquake I do not want to go for a tsunami experience. I have studied the escape routes and got my fone ,torch and swiss army knife/ box of matches ( in plastic bag) by me at all times...thats about as much of a kit I can muster up . Sorry to hear about the devastation by the tornado - awful - but glad I am not in that part of the States.

Unfortunately the weather has changed and I woke to rain yesterday and drove all day in it - so the views of the Oregon coast have been somewhat limited - but I can see there are amazing bays with stacks and craggy islands - and one area was miles and miles of huge sand dunes. There are many many State Parks so it must be great living here to be able to camp at these places. I made a few stops and braved the lashing rain and biting wind - thankful that I have packed my fleece although I had expected to be wearing my shorts - and I am back on with the thermal today!!

I stayed at a very nice beachside motel at Bandon and now I am at Rockaway beach for 2 nights to give myself a rest from driving and collect myself a bit before I go to my next stay with Betty Jean in Portland - I am looking forward to meeting her and making new friends. Portland is the city of roses I am told so maybe some more flower fotos coming next. Restaurants here of course have loads of seafood - so I am stuffing myself with halibut, salmon, scallops and prawns and clam chowder.

Most of the fotos of the coast are not named as I cannot remember which was taken where- but I am sure you wont care.... nice to see about 80-90 folk are reading my blog - that makes it all worthwhile writing it. Keep the comments coming please...love to know what you think...and hello Mick from Spain.

Love to all

Lynne x


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Avenue of Giants (6)Avenue of Giants (6)
Avenue of Giants (6)

Redwoods- edited!
Redwoods (2)Redwoods (2)
Redwoods (2)

Looking up....photoshopped!!
Bandon (3)Bandon (3)
Bandon (3)

Log graveyard


22nd May 2013

Stunning photos again. The flowers in California coastal Drive 1 look just like the Alicante weed, perhaps some Hunky Spanish Pirate brought them over? Tel says well done having survival kit close at hand add some chocolate to it. Lol xxxx
22nd May 2013

Tall trees
Hi Lynne. Having a great time as usual and seeing everything and more. Yes, the US does have the tallest trees, our Kari and tingle in the west of Oz are only second tallest! We also have a tre e that we could drive through, at no cost, but it fell down, because of the drive thrus... A bit like McKays! Hopefully they will fall one day! Now one can just look at the stump..... We are having a great time in Spain. Now in Barcelona, arrived this PM.... Love it already! Col & Peter
22nd May 2013

Wow! Lynne what fantastic photos. Huge things. The trees that is. Much love Janice
23rd May 2013

Wonderful coastline and beautiful flowers, I knew Terry would be impressed with the survival kit!!!!!! Absolutely love the photos of tall trees, magnificent. Lotsa love xx
24th May 2013

How can we compare?
Hi Lynne This sure looks better than the views during my week of celebration in Leicester!!! Many thanks for the card - seem to have hundreds - will have to read them all through when things settle a little. Had a lovely time with Arthur on my day 'in charge' and lovely weekend with Mark, Annabelle, Peter and Joy - enjoyed swimming / sauna / steam room at hotel. Now back home with piles of washing etc. Off on Sunday to Kent to visit more cousins and no doubt celebrate some more - it sure is hard work being 70!!!!!!!!!! Enjoy your time with new friends look forward to reading the next blog Love Jill x
25th May 2013

still reading
Hi Lynne, Just a quickie to say I'm still reading your blog. Have had a bit of a ridiculously busy time recently but now all is quieter because .. I've retired!! Yeah. freedom. Lovely to see your beautiful pictures as ever, your intrepid adventures are an example to us all (and a cheap way for us to travel.) Have fun. Sue x
26th May 2013

Condors, Pelicans, Elk, Redwoods and Wildflowers!
What an amazing trip you're having Lynne. I've really enjoyed reading your blog and the wonderful photos. It's been great reliving many of the highlights from our holiday last year - but of course you've done so much more. There are a lot more places on my to do list now! Well we're off to Madeira tomorrow (at 3.00 a.m.!) just for a week - looking forward to exploring this beautiful island and finding some sunshine. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Love Jane x x
8th July 2013

Gorgeous Photos
Really gorgeous photos, especially of the trees. Interesting about the weather. I know that Mark Twain said the coldest winter he ever had was a summer in San Francisco. I kind of felt the same way about Ireland when I was there.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb