Sleep time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
August 16th 2011
Published: May 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I did something a little surprising: absolutely nothing.

I shouldn’t have been surprised.

My last break was a week and a half ago, and the time in between has been unusually exhausting.

I’ve become worn out, one of the big risks of a long trip.

One of my guidebooks warns that this problem will correct itself automatically if one doesn’t plan in advance.

Today was the first day I was forced to stay put, so the correction happened and I slept all day.

Of course, it helped that I was in Portland, one of those cities where hanging out has been raised to an art form (see July 21st).



This hotel has something of a view.

My room faces west, so it gets the mountain view Portland is known for (see July 23rd).

The center showed a distant white rounded peak that looked something like a mirage, Mount Adams.

On the left was a broader white stubby mountain, Mount St. Helens.

Finally, a pyramid shaped peak that was higher than both of them appeared on the right, Mount Hood.

The rest of the view, unfortunately, was all apartment buildings.



I need to note that the white minimalism, which I found so spare when I checked in, slowly grew on me until it won me over.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb