Chapter 12: What I Learned


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
March 24th 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today's date is March 24th, 2011. Our trip finished up on October 24th, 2010. It has taken an extra 5 months for me to finish a blog for a trip that ended nearly half a year ago.

For those of you still here, still reading this far along, you have my heartfelt thanks for your genuine interest. You have tripped through my occasionally miserable spelling, stumbled over rough patches of grammar, and put up with the constant misattributing of things, simply to hear an adventure.

Though I'm materially poorer as a result of this trip, I'm spiritually and culturally richer than I could have ever been without this experience. Where trips in the past have been focused on going from place to place, seeing the structures and statues you recognize from TV and Film, taking a picture and moving on, this trip has been about much more. Our trip was one of talking to people and comparing different world views. Finding out that no matter where you are from, everyone has similar problems, similar victories, and similar tastes in music. The people we met on this trip will be remembered for a very long time, and I for one cannot wait to see them again.

So, what did I learn? Nothing that isn't a cliche. You have to take risks to make the most of your time, though do not try to finish a full load of laundry an hour before the laundromat closes. You have to expect that for every three things that go wrong with a plan, at least one thing will go right enough to salvage the experience. Always plan for the worst, so that way if nothing goes wrong, you can pat yourself on the back. If you think you have a shot, go for it, instead of simply hoping you'll see her again someday. Dance like everyone is looking and you don't give a fuck about what they think (because chances are, the guys on Ecstasy will still look crazier than you). Life is simultaneously a chess game and a roller coaster in that there are moments to plan strategically for whats next, and times where you need to abandon what you expected and just go with it to have a great time. Wave at strangers. While most will think you crazy, someone will wave back, and for a moment you'll be connected. Try foods you can't pronounce. Walk alone with your favorite song playing and just take a moment to breathe and enjoy the moment. And finally, I guess you need to allow yourself to be pleased. And what I mean there is that you shouldn't walk into any travel experience with unrealistic expectations of it going exactly the way you think it should go. Rather, head in with your head up, shoulders straight, and go "How can I make the best of what I've been handed today?", remembering to enjoy the victories and to grin and bear the inevitable trials and tribulations.

As for the next step, it's already underway. After months of searching, I've found a job as a member of the Program Staff at Science School Magruder, which I'm very excited to start on March 28th. And while every member of our trip is already planning their next big whirlwind journey around the world, I'm content to spend some time working and saving up some money. There is no doubt that my next adventure will happen in a couple years, once my feet are firmly planted, and when it does, you can expect the sarcastic tones and goofy humor of my writing to be present once more. But for now, I can safely put this trip to rest, knowing I had the experience of a lifetime.

Again, my thanks to all of you still reading and I truly hope you enjoyed it. My incredible thanks to Jared Dodson and Tori Nickles for accompanying me on this trip.

And that my friends, is all she wrote.

Signing off from Portland, OR

Ben Richards, The Worldly Guy You Know

Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb