Gettin Ready


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My first blog entry...ever on my own site. It really hasn't sunk in yet that I'll be gone for nearly 3 months (maybe it won't until I get to Fiji.) I am going to miss some aspects of Portland, but quite honestly I'm ready to get the fuck out of here. I'm almost finished packing but I already have everything I need, which isn't much for such a long trip. I am most looking forward to going to NZ, I never thought I would go there in my life and I they are among the friendliest people I've met in my life. Being outdoors and going on an outdoor leadership expedition in some of the most magnificent terrain and land in the world will be one of the highlights of my life. But, there is so much we are going to do while in FANZ (Fiji, Australia, NZ) that its a bit hard to be excited about one particular part, but I would have to say NZ is what I'm most looking forward to...and scuba diving in the great barrier reef at the end. See? It's hard to pick just one. Anyhow, tomorrow I fly out at 11:50 or so to LAX and then we leave as a group for Nadi, Fiji at 9:30 our time. Quite the layover, probably the worst I've had. Meeting and talking with the other group members will pass the time quickly but the flight is still 11 hours. I know there are much worse flights, but 11 hours is a long time to be sitting on your ass. I'm not complaining, I'm just saying that I hope there are some good seatmates and movies, and my book which I'm gonna try and kill as much time with. My experience with international flights has been excellent for the most part (no gigantic guys with their fat rolls intruding my space, only one crying baby, and NEVER anyone who tried to have unnecessary conversation while I was trying to sleep or do something else.) *Knock on wood* Lastly, I'd like to say thank you to my parents who have put up with my during this much needed and cherished gap year, my friends and other family who have given me donations for Amigos and been there for me when I needed you, I wouldn't be on this trip if it weren't for all of you. Thank you to my dear family friend Diane for turning an emergency passport trip up to Seattle into one of the better days of 2011 so far. I will miss you Portland, and all thats within it. 3 months will probably zip by, and I look forward to a great summer when I return!

Next Blog: When I get computer access in Fiji, most likely towards the end of Fiji.

Thank you all!

Advertisement



9th February 2011

You are off on the journey of a lifetime, and you deserve it along with all the wonders and adventures that await. It would be cool if you could upload pics, but I guess you can do that on FB also. This blog will be fun to keep up with your travels, the group is lucky to have your energy, heart, and curiosity! "Out beyond right and wrong there is a field, I'll meet you there" Rumi
10th February 2011

Safe travels
Thanks for the call tonight - have a wonderful trip! Looking forward to hearing all about it. Keep building memories <3 C,C,C&B
18th February 2011

You are amazing!
Dylan, This is so exciting reading about your adventures...I look forward to reading all your entries and eating crab with you next year in Seattle! Love you bunches! Diane

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb