Back home to reality...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
September 6th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Things have finally settled down a little bit, and I've had time to look back and reflect. Overall the trip was a blast, even though some unexpected events happened. I still feel ok with how much I got to see on the journey, but it still leaves the door open to return and finish the trip some time in the future. My soon-to-be brother in-law offered me his motorcycle to ride for the rest of the 2009 riding season in Oregon. How could I pass on that offer?! It's an SV650s, and it is a blast to ride. It feels great to put the leathers on and go tear up some curvy roads. Those of you who ride, you'll understand that there is nothing else like it.

I've been working off and on several different places. I've done some mechanic work for my dad and his fleet of vehicles. Also I've done a little bit of mechanic work for friends and family, and slowly the jobs keep floating in. I'm hoping the mechanic jobs keep rolling in, because I enjoy working for myself the most out of all the jobs. Also I have been working at a warehouse in Canby, but it is only temporary work. I get called in when they get behind on orders, and get laid off when they get caught up. At the moment I'm not making tons of money, but it is easily enough to get by for a while. I have a lot of fun, and that is what I like the most. The engineering job market still doesn't look very good, and that is why I'm not pursuing that in full speed.

I'm starting to consider another big trip in the distant future. I'd like to do another east coast trip. This time I want to go one direction through the central states, and the other direction through the south. My friend Rob is considering the trip along with me, and we will just wait and see if this thing works out or not. It appears that I'm still living day to day, and for the time being I'm fine with that. Good times.

I'll post more when the big journey continues...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb